Jimmy Buffett Down To Earth / High Cumberland Jubilee

Get email alerts for Jimmy Buffett
Price: $15.30
List Price: $16.99
You Save: $1.69 (10% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  W7CH
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Barnaby 30093 (1972)
  • Original Album #2: Barnaby 6014 (1976)

Description by OLDIES.com:

A nice treat for serious "parrotheads" and anyone that can appreciate a fun approach to music. This 2 CD collection offers a rare look at Buffett's early recordings with Barnaby, with both albums highlighting the absolute best of his early material. Down To Earth was originally released by Barnaby in 1972, and features early Buffett essentials such as "The Christian?," "Truckstop Salvation" and "Ellis Dee."

Originally released in 1972, High Cumberland Jubilee was Buffett's second release under Barnaby. Though the album was originally "lost" by the record label, it was subsequently found and released after Buffett's popularity exploded. And it's a good thing because it features some of Buffett's best early material such as "God Don't Own a Car," Livingston's Gone to Texas" and "High Cumberland Jubilee / Comin' Down Slow." His songwriting collaboration with Buzz Carson help make this album a classic for Jimmy Buffett.


  • 1.The Christian?
  • 2.Ellis Dee
  • 3.The Missionary
  • 4.A Mile High In Denver
  • 5.The Captain And The Kid
  • 6.Captain America
  • 7.Ain't He A Genius
  • 8.Turnabout
  • 9.There's Nothin' Soft About Hard Times
  • 10.I Can't Be Your Hero Today
  • 11.Truckstop Salvation
  • 12.Ace
  • 13.Rockefeller Square
  • 14.Bend A Little
  • 15.In The Shelter
  • 16.Death Valley Lives
  • 17.Livingston's Gone To Texas
  • 18.England
  • 19.Travelin' Clean
  • 20.The Hang-Out Gang
  • 21.God Don't Own A Car
  • 22.High Cumberland Jubilee / Comin' Down Slow

Product Description:

This budget-priced twofer combines Jimmy Buffett's 1970 recording debut with his 1976 song cycle HIGH CUMBERLAND JUBILEE. The former album finds the onetime smuggler at home with thinly veiled drug references such as "Ellis Dee (He Ain't Free)," social comment such as "The Christian?" and "The Missionary," and hardscrabble ballads like "There's Nothing Soft About Hard Times," as well as including one of his best early songs, "The Captain and the Kid." The mid-'70s release is a country-oriented set blending the sharp-eyed observation of songs such as "Rockefeller Square" and "Bend a Little" with affecting vignettes such as "Livingston's Gone to Texas" and the down-home "God Don't Own a Car," while the medley of the title track and "Comin' Down Slow" is one of Buffett's most intricately arranged productions.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 115,725
  • UPC: 090431768921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)