Rodney Crowell But What Will The Neighbors Think / Rodney Crowell

Get email alerts for Rodney Crowell
9 ratings
SALE: $6.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.99 (53% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7669
on most orders of $49+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Warner Bros. WB 3407 (1980)
  • Original Album #2: Warner Bros. WB 3587 (1981)

Description by

A well-known country songwriter that got his start as Emmylou Harris' guitarist, Rodney Crowell had his first hits with the songs "Elvira" and "(Now And Then There's) A Fool Such As I." "But What Will The Neighbors Think" was Crowell's second album, and spawned the charting single "Ashes By Now." Influenced by co-producer Craig Leon (Blondie, The Ramones), it took a distinctly more rock "feel" than his country-rock debut album (1978's "Ain't Living Long Like This"). The second album on this pairing was his third release, produced by Crowell himself, and includes such highlights as "Stars On The Water," "Shame On The Moon" (later a hit for Bob Seeger) and "'Til I Gain Control Again."


  • 1.Here Comes The 80's
  • 2.Ain't No Money
  • 3.Oh, What A Feeling
  • 4.It's Only Rock 'N' Roll
  • 5.On A Real Good Night
  • 6.Ashes By Now
  • 7.Heartbroke
  • 8.Queen Of Hearts
  • 9.Blues In The Daytime
  • 10.The One About England
  • 11.Stars On The Water
  • 12.Just Wanta Dance
  • 13.She Ain't Going Nowhere
  • 14.Don't Need No Other Now
  • 15.Shame On The Moon
  • 16.Only Two Hearts
  • 17.Victim Or A Fool
  • 18.All You've Got To Do
  • 19.'Til I Gain Control Again
  • 20.Old Pipeliner

Product Description:

Personnel: Rodney Crowell (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar); Rodney Crowell; Albert Lee (vocals, guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, piano, background vocals); Steve Wood (vocals, electric piano); Don Whaley, Larry Willoughby (vocals); Vince Gill (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar, background vocals); Amos Garrett (guitar); Emory Gordy Jr. (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, electric 6-string guitar, electric 12-string guitar, piano, electric piano, bass guitar); Frank Reckard (electric guitar); Phil Kenzie (saxophone, horns); Tower of Power Sax Section (saxophone); Bill Lamb (horns); Rosanne Cash (background vocals); Richard Bennett (guitar, acoustic guitar, electric guitar); Hank DeVito (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, slide guitar, steel guitar); Craig Leon (flute, piano); Tony Brown (piano, electric piano, keyboards); Booker T. Jones (piano, organ); Larrie Londin (drums, percussion).
Photographer: Norman Seeff.
While his 1978 debut album, Ain't Livin' Long Like This, certainly caught the attention of folks in the music business, it was his second album, 1980's But What Will the Neighbors Think, that first alerted radio listeners and mainstream country fans to Rodney Crowell's gifts as a songwriter and performer, and while his self-titled 1981 follow-up wasn't the hit But What Will the Neighbors Think turned out to be, it confirmed the man was a major talent whose smart, edgy songs were a far cry from what was the norm in Nashville at the time. Collectables has reissued these two albums on a single CD, and decades after it first came out But What Will the Neighbors Think still sounds like the work of a talented maverick not afraid to take some chances; Crowell's grim assessment of America at the dawn of the Reagan era, "Here Come the 80's," would have been a gutsy way to open an album in any genre, especially country, and if "It's Only Rock 'n' Roll" takes on a less serious topic (the music business), it's no less venomous, or hits its target with less impact. "Ashes by Now" and "The One About England" showed Crowell was as sure a hand with more personal subjects, and the spare snap of Craig Leon's production allows this to walk a fine line between the rock club and the honky tonk and capture the best of both sides. Rodney Crowell was a less immediately striking album, but still has more than its share of great songs (including his original versions of "Shame on the Moon" and "'Til I Gain Control Again"), and Crowell, who also produced, assembled a superb crew of musicians, including Albert Lee, Booker T. Jones, Vince Gill, and Rosanne Cash (who was his wife at the time). These two albums represented Rodney Crowell at the first apex of his career, and after years out of print, it's good to see them available again, and in an affordable format at that. ~ Mark Deming

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
AT LAST! Music Lover: from London, England UK -- March, 3, 2005

I've been waiting for these two albums to appear on CD for years!

I'd like to say a MASSIVE "Thank you" to Collectables for finally putting them out on CD.

Rodney Crowell is quite simply a superb songwriter and performer.

The fact that any of his albums are still currently out of print is something which I hope will be addressed soon.

Buy this CD - You will NOT be disappointed!

Well, if this don't beat all Music Lover: from Charlottesville, VA -- February, 26, 2005

In my wildest dreams, I never thought I was going to see the reissue of Rodney's 2nd and 3rd albums on compact disc in my lifetime! This just about makes my decade! With all the crap coming out of Nashville these days, thank goodness Collectables had the good sense to lease the master tapes from Warner Brothers of these two classics that should have been made available YEARS ago! Songwriting, arranging, and singing like this does not seem to exist in Nashvegas anymore, which is a loss, and it's too bad. These albums were part of a golden era for country music, and it's just plain great that the current generation of country music fans will finally have the chance to hear how it's supposed to be done. All you have to do is listen! Man, I can't wait to hear them in my car and over my surround sound system! Do I sound excited? Damn straight! GET THIS ALBUM! WHAT ARE YOU WAITING FOR?

Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 16,165
  • UPC: 090431766927
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)