Complete Marion Morgan With Harry James & His Orchestra

Get email alerts for Marion Morgan
6 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $2.99 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 10 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7637
Brand New

CD Details

  • Compiled & Produced By: Dan Rivard
  • Digital Audio Restoration: Ken Robertson
  • Liner Notes: Gary Theroux
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Harry James was, without a doubt, the number one trumpet man of the Great Band Era - and, quite possibly of all time. He was also a pioneer, a visionary and a virtuoso, as well as a beloved and admired entertainer. His music was sometimes sweet, sometimes swingin' - and sometimes both! In 1938, after a stint with Benny Goodman, Harry put together his own orchestra. Amoung Harry's vocalists: Betty Grable (his wife), Dick Haymes, Helen Forrest, Doris Day, Kitty Kallen, and most memorably, Frank Sinatra. Harry almost signed Patti Page - but instead stole 23 year-old Marion Morgan away from Caesar Petrillo's big band in Chicago. In June 1946 he flew her to Los Angeles, where all of their recording would take place. A short seventeen months later, Marion overheard Harry James say, "Singers have ruined the band business," and that very weekend, she quit the band. After her experience with the Harry James, Marion Morgan went on to record with Columbia Records, and then onto television and radio during the 1950s.


  • 1.If I'm Lucky
  • 2.Life Can Be Beautiful
  • 3.White Christmas
  • 4.As Long As I'm Dreaming
  • 5.Heartaches
  • 6.Love And The Weather
  • 7.Strange What A Song Can Do
  • 8.My Future Just Passed
  • 9.My Friend Irma
  • 10.Sentimental Souvenirs
  • 11.Hankerin'
  • 12.Someone Loves Someone
  • 13.Forever Amber
  • 14.Love (Your Spell Is Everywhere)
  • 15.There's Music In The Land
  • 16.I Don't Care If It Rains All Night
  • 17.Beyond The Sea
  • 18.Love Of My Life
  • 19.Ev'ry Day I Love You (Just A Little Bit More)
  • 20.You Can Do No Wrong (With Vinnie DeCampo)
  • 21.It's Awf'lly Lonely Out Tonight (Previously Unreleased)
  • 22.What Did I Do?
  • 23.You Can't Run Away From Love
  • 24.Embraceable You (Bonus Track)
  • 25.Is It True (Bonus Track)

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Gary Theroux.
Recording information: 08/26/1946-12/30/1947.
Director: Ben Pollack.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 6 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
A Little Slick Music Lover: from HACKETTSTOWN, NJ US -- February, 4, 2015

Good musicianship and singing; but the work shows a little too much schmaltz.

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,916
  • UPC: 090431763728
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)