The Five Crowns Rainbow & Old Town Recordings

Get email alerts for The Five Crowns
9 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $9.99 (67% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7512
Brand New

CD Details

  • Liner Notes: Marv Goldberg
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Most collectors would agree that the Five Crowns represent the quintessential New York street corner sound of the early 50s. They released ten records with no hits, but in 1958 (through a series of events that could only happen in the record business) they became the Drifters. This collection of 18 songs comprises the best recordings the group made for the Rainbow and Old Town record labels. Includes extensive liner notes.


  • 1.You're My Inspiration
  • 2.Keep It A Secret
  • 3.$19.50 Bus
  • 4.A Star
  • 5.You Came To Me
  • 6.Alone Again
  • 7.Why Don't You Believe Me
  • 8.Ooh Wee Baby
  • 9.Who Can Be True
  • 10.Again
  • 11.Good Luck Darling
  • 12.You Win Again
  • 13.The Man On The Moon
  • 14.I Don't Have To Hunt No More
  • 15.At The Fair
  • 16.You Could Be My Love
  • 17.Later Later Baby
  • 18.Lullabye Of The Bells
  • 19.My Story
  • 20.Good Luck
  • 21.Oh Lovely One

Product Description:

Unknown Contributor Roles: John "Sonny Boy" Clark ; Doc Green; Claudie "Nicky" Clark; Wilbur "Yunkie" Paul.
The Five Crowns' claim to fame, of course, is that they turned into the Drifters in 1959, but these recordings were made four-to-seven years earlier, and they feature only one singer, bass-baritone Doc Green, who was also a member of the later ensemble. When the Five Crowns made their first single, "A Star"/"You're My Desire" for Rainbow Records in July 1952, their lineup consisted of Green, Wilbur "Yonkie" Paul, and the three Clark brothers -- James "Papa" Clark, Claudie "Nicky" Clark, and John "Sonny Boy" Clark -- with Paul singing lead on the up-tempo songs and "Papa" Clark taking over for the ballads. Both sides of the single, along with the contents of the group's three subsequent Rainbow singles, are included here, along with seven more tracks from Rainbow, three of which -- "Good Luck Darling," "You Win Again," and "The Man on the Moon" -- are previously unreleased. The Five Crowns then moved to Old Town Records for two singles, both sides of which are heard here (among them a second recording of "Good Luck Darling"), along with the previously unreleased "Oh Lovely One." In addition to the historical significance of these recordings, they prove to be impressive vocal group tracks with impassioned singing. They don't sound much like the late-'50s Drifters, but they are powerful early examples of the kind of music the later group specialized in, and doo wop collectors' interest in them is more than justified by this valuable release. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 9 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Outstanding! Music Lover: from Mantua, NJ -- December, 27, 2006

I'm also a hard edged RnB vocal group harmony fan. Great album, I highly recommend it!

Vintage Early Black Harmony Music Lover: from Plainsboro, NJ -- February, 16, 2006

This disc is for hard edged RnB vocal group harmony fans. The early raw harmonies fronted by a sensational, crisp lead makes this disc a joy to any group harmony fan. If you have the Rainbow LP from the 80's you'll love the enhanced sound quality + the Old Town releases - both issued and unissued in superior stereo quality.

Collectables Records
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 672
  • UPC: 090431751220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)