Get email alerts for Duke Ellington
SALE: $6.97
List Price: $7.98
You Save: $1.01 (13% Off)
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  SSP 98152
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: November 7, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Sbme Special Mkts.


  • 1.East St. Louis Toodle-Oo
  • 2.Black and Tan Fantasy
  • 3.Take It Easy
  • 4.The Mooche
  • 5.Rockin' in Rhythm
  • 6.Mood Indigo
  • 7.Creole Rhapsody, Pts. 1 & 2
  • 8.It Don't Mean a Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 9.Creole Love Call
  • 10.Sophisticated Lady
  • 11.Solitude
  • 12.Caravan
  • 13.Back Room Romp
  • 14.Ko Ko
  • 15.Never No Lament (Don't Get Around Much Anymore)
  • 16.Cotton Tail
  • 17.Take the "A" Train
  • 18.Satin Doll
  • 19.Jeep's Blues
  • 20.Come Sunday - (from "Black, Brown And Beige")
  • 21.Black Beauty

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Duke Ellington (piano); Bob Cox, Ivie Anderson (vocals); Johnny Hodges (soprano & alto saxophones); Russell Procope (alto saxophone, clarinet); Otto Hardwick, Barney Bigard (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Ben Webster, Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone, clarinet); Ray Nance (trumpet, cornet, violin); Bubber Miley, Cootie Williams, Clark Terry (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton, Lawrence Brown (trombone); Juan Tizol (valve trombone); Fred Guy (guitar, banjo); Wellman Braud, Jimmy Blanton (acoustic bass); Sonny Greer, Sam Woodyard (drums).
Recorded between 1927 and 1960. Includes liner notes by Phil Bailey.
Digitally remastered by Darcy M. Proper (Sony Studios, New York, New York).
This is part of the Columbia/Legacy Ken Burns JAZZ series.
This accompaniment to the Duke Ellington segment of Ken Burn's sweeping PBS series makes stops at many of the bandleader's most vital reference points--which also encompass much of the history of jazz throughout the first half of the 20th century--from the seminal "East St. Louis Toodle-oo" to Ray Nance's gorgeous violin on "Come Sunday," from the groundbreaking BLACK, BROWN AND BEIGE suite.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 886919815221
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)