Eddy Duchin Dancing With Duchin

Get email alerts for Eddy Duchin
3 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $2.99 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
16 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 7449
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Pianist Eddy Duchin, best known for his flashy style and fabulous showmanship, mesmerized audiences in the 1930s and 1940s. Highlights on these twenty-five original recordings, from the vaults of Columbia Records,include Cole Porter's "From Now On" and Hoagy Carmichael's "Heart And Soul."


  • 1.Give You My Word (Featuring June Robbins)
  • 2.From Now On (Featuring Stanley Worth)
  • 3.I Hear A Dream (Featuring Carolyn Horton)
  • 4.There Shall Be No Night (Featuring Johnny Drake)
  • 5.So You're The One (Featuring June Robbins)
  • 6.Little Sleepy Head (Featuring Tony Leonard)
  • 7.Down Argentina Way (Featuring The Three Earbenders)
  • 8.Get Out Of Town (Featuring Stanley Worth)
  • 9.The Man Who Cares (Featuring Penny Wise)
  • 10.Two Dreams Met (Featuring Johnny Drake)
  • 11.It's A Hap, Hap, Happy Day (Featuring The Three Earbenders)
  • 12.How Can We Be Wrong? (Featuring Stanley Worth)
  • 13.I Hear Music (Featuring June Robbins)
  • 14.You Walk By (Featuring Johnny Drake)
  • 15.Let's Have Harmony (Featuring The Charioteers)
  • 16.Fooled (Featuring Bob Sampson)
  • 17.It All Comes Back To Me Now (Featuring June Robbins)
  • 18.Stars Over The School House (Remind Me Of You) (Featuring Phil Brito)
  • 19.Practice Makes Perfect (Featuring June Robbins)
  • 20.The Same Old Story (Featuring Johnny Drake)
  • 21.Time Was (Featuring Chorestra)
  • 22.Heart And Soul (Featuring Stanley Worth)
  • 23.Number Ten Lullaby Lane (Featuring June Robbins & Trio)
  • 24.Speaking Of Heaven (Featuring Johnny Macafee)
  • 25.Ol' Man Mose (Featuring Patricia Norman)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Eddy Duchin (piano); June Robbins, Stanley Worth, Carolyn Horton, Johnny Drake, Tony Leonard, Penny Wise, Bob Sampson, Phil Brito, Johnny Macafee, Patricia Norman (vocals); The Three Earbenders, The Charioteers.
Eddy Duchin had his greatest recording success between 1933 and 1936 on RCA Victor Records, but he still had some mileage left when he moved to the Brunswick label in 1938, later switching to the Columbia imprint, with which he recorded until he broke up his band to enter the navy in 1942. Sony now controls the Brunswick and Columbia catalogs, and this 25-track compilation features some of Duchin's most popular late-'30s and early-'40s recordings, among them "I Give You My Word," "So You're the One," and "You Walk By," which were in the hit parade simultaneously in the winter of 1940-1941; "From Now On" and "Get Out of Town" from the Cole Porter musical Leave It to Me; "Number Ten Lullaby Lane"; and Louis Armstrong's "Ol' Man Mose." All of these hit the Top Ten on one chart or another. A light dance beat is maintained throughout, as Duchin leads the band with his melodic piano-playing, followed by a vocal refrain from one of his many singers and vocal groups. The effect is unfailingly pleasant and calls to mind the kind of hotel ballrooms where Duchin and his ensemble used to play. This is not a thorough collection of Duchin's best recordings, both because it lacks the RCA material and because there were other hits in the Brunswick/Columbia era that are not included, but it is welcome for bringing a chunk of the bandleader's recordings back into print. ~ William Ruhlmann

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 3 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Big-band Lovers' Dream! Music Lover: from Maplewood, NJ US -- December, 2, 2003

How nice to see these fine tunes from Duchin's Brunswick period collected here. Audio restoration (not credited! Ken Robertson?) is fantastic - like listening to mint laminated Brunswicks on the best playback system ever. Hope this sells well enough to encourage similar projects in the future (the complete Buddy Clark on Okeh/Columbia would be VERY nice - just get Ken Robertson to do the remastering!).

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 58,292
  • UPC: 090431744925
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)