COVID-19: In accordance with the directives of government and health authorities, we have temporarily suspended operations. Please read our full statement

Percy Faith Today's Themes For Young Lovers / For Those In Love

Get email alerts for Percy Faith
13 ratings
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  COL 7429
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Reissue Producer: Jeff James
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Columbia Records CS 9504 (1967)
  • Original Album #2: Columbia Records CS 9610 (1968)

Description by

The year was 1967, and in "Today's Themes For Young Lovers" Percy Faith brought us some recent tunes, this time with featuring a female chorus on some tracks - stunning arrangements of such tunes as "Happy Together." From 1968, the collection "For Those In Love," the chorus adds sparkle to "I Say A Little Prayer" and other pop-vocal tunes of the day. (Bill Halvorsen)


  • 1.The 59th Street Bridge Song (Feelin' Groovy)
  • 2.Yellow Days
  • 3.There's A Kind Of Hush (All Over The World)
  • 4.I Can Hear The Music
  • 5.Release Me
  • 6.Mary In The Morning
  • 7.Can't Take My Eyes Off You
  • 8.Windy
  • 9.A World Of Whispers
  • 10.Happy Together
  • 11.Somethin' Stupid
  • 12.Sunny
  • 13.The Look Of Love
  • 14.I Say A Little Prayer
  • 15.Brand New Morning
  • 16.Don't Sleep In The Subway
  • 17.Waitin' ('Round The Bend)
  • 18.Never My Love
  • 19.It Must Be Him
  • 20.Goin' Out Of My Head
  • 21.For Those In Love
  • 22.Live For Life

Product Description:

Originally released on Columbia.
Liner Note Author: Mark Marymont.
Recording information: 02/27/1967-12/22/1967.
Collectables' two-fer reissue of the Percy Faith albums Today's Themes for Young Lovers and For Those in Love is an excellent match-up. The former album was Faith's summer 1967 LP release, and it was followed by the latter in the winter of 1968. Faith took the same approach with both, recording his versions of hits with his orchestra and, on most tracks, a female chorus, so you might as well call this reissue "Percy Faith Plays the Hits of 1967." Three of the year's Billboard Hot 100 chart-toppers -- "Happy Together," "Somethin' Stupid," and "Windy" -- are included, along with lots of other soft rock successes. Faith's arrangements usually contain elements from the hit recordings, and he has made good choices from what was available to him. He wisely presents "Somethin' Stupid" as an instrumental, not forcing his chirpy women to twist their tongues around the slightly sarcastic lyrics, but they sound odd trying to sing "It Must Be Him," as if it weren't the emotionally overwrought song it is. Faith is at his best with songs already written in his sort of style, such as "Release Me" and the Burt Bacharach compositions "The Look of Love" and "I Say a Little Prayer." There is some filler here (Faith usually reserved at least one songwriting credit on each LP for himself and also stuck on other ringers, perhaps as favors), but this is a good survey of 1967 popular music from an easy listening perspective, including several tunes that remained familiar into the 21st century. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 997
  • UPC: 090431742921
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To contact customer service, email us at
Closed for COVID-19