Nat "King" Cole Hittin' the Ramp: The Early Years 1936-1943 (7-CD)

Get email alerts for Nat "King" Cole
Price: $91
List Price: $99.98
You Save: $8.98 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD  (7 Discs)
item number:  6VR3R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 7
  • Released: November 1, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Resonance Records

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Honey Hush
  • 2.Stompin' at the Panama (Skoller's Shuffle)
  • 3.Bedtime (Sleepy Moan)
  • 4.Thunder
  • 5.Mutiny in the Nursery
  • 6.F.D.R. Jones
  • 7.The Sheik of Araby
  • 8.The Blue Danube
  • 9.Button, Button
  • 10.Jingle Bells
  • 11.Swanee River
  • 12.With Plenty of Money and You
  • 13.Don't Blame Me
  • 14.Lullaby in Rhythm
  • 15.Dark Rapture
  • 16.The Wiggly Walk
  • 17.Flea Hop
  • 18.Chopsticks
  • 19.Patty Cake, Patty Cake
  • 20.Blue Skies
  • 21.Liza
  • 22.Three Blind Mice
  • 23.Caravan
  • 24.There's No Anesthetic for Love
  • 25.Dixie Jamboree
  • 26.Ta-De-Ah
  • 27.Riffin' at the Bar-B-Q
  • 28.Harlem Swing
  • 29.I Lost Control of Myself

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Land of Make Believe
  • 2.That Please-Be-Mine-Able Feeling
  • 3.Dancing in the Street
  • 4.You're So Different
  • 5.I Wouldn't Have Known It
  • 6.Let's Get Happy
  • 7.Undecided
  • 8.'Taint What You Do
  • 9.Do You Wanna Jump, Children?
  • 10.Riffin' in F Minor
  • 11.Ol' Man Mose Ain't Dead
  • 12.Blue Lou
  • 13.Honey
  • 14.Russian Lullaby
  • 15.Georgie Porgy
  • 16.The Limp
  • 17.Snug as a Bug in a Rug
  • 18.Liebestraum
  • 19.Fidgety Joe
  • 20.Two Against One
  • 21.Some Like it Hot
  • 22.Crazy Rhythm
  • 23.Moonglow
  • 24.Don't Let That Moon Get Away
  • 25.My Blue Heaven
  • 26.I Was Doing Alright
  • 27.I Can't Get Started
  • 28.Old Man Moon
  • 29.Carry Me Back to Old Virginny

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Moon Song
  • 2.Baby, Won't You Please Come Home
  • 3.Rosetta
  • 4.Trompin'
  • 5.You're My Life
  • 6.Hoy Soy
  • 7.Take 'Em
  • 8.Scategoria
  • 9.Rhythm Serenade
  • 10.Rib Town Shuffle
  • 11.Music'll Chase Your Blues Away
  • 12.I'll Gather Up My Memories
  • 13.A Fool's Affair
  • 14.Jump, Jack, Jump
  • 15.I Knew a Time
  • 16.Mine You'll Always Be
  • 17.Doin' the Bow Wow
  • 18.Lilla Mae
  • 19.I Like to Riff
  • 20.On the Sunny Side of the Street
  • 21.Black Spider Stomp
  • 22.By the River St. Marie
  • 23.Slew Foot Joe
  • 24.1-2-3-4
  • 25.Crazy 'Bout Rhythm
  • 26.Off the Beam
  • 27.King Cole Blues
  • 28.Jivin' with the Notes
  • 29.Never Mind, Baby

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.I'm a Perfect Fool Over You
  • 2.Lovely Little Person
  • 3.Love Me Sooner
  • 4.Sentimental Blue
  • 5.Goin' to Town with Honey
  • 6.Syncopated Lullaby
  • 7.Falling in and Out of Love
  • 8.Let's Do Things
  • 9.Jumpy Jitters
  • 10.Nothing Ever Happens
  • 11.What'cha Doin' to My Heart
  • 12.Bedtime
  • 13.Honey Hush
  • 14.French Toast
  • 15.Vine Street Jump
  • 16.B Flat
  • 17.You Send Me
  • 18.Love Is My Alibi
  • 19.Pogo Stick Bounce
  • 20.Whatcha' Know, Joe?
  • 21.Sweet Lorraine
  • 22.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 23.Gone with the Draft
  • 24.This Side Up
  • 25.Jumpin' with the Mop
  • 26.Jam Man
  • 27.Let's Try Again
  • 28.Fudge Wudge
  • 29.Smokey Joe
  • 30.Windy City Boogie Woogie
  • 31.Ode to a Wild Clam

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Let's Try Again
  • 2.Whatcha' Know, Joe?
  • 3.Lazy River
  • 4.Georgia on My Mind
  • 5.Rockin' Chair
  • 6.A Little Jive Is Good for You
  • 7.You've Changed
  • 8.Babs
  • 9.Scotchin' with the Soda
  • 10.Slow Down
  • 11.Early Morning Blues
  • 12.The Romany Room Is Jumpin'
  • 13.This Will Make You Laugh
  • 14.Stop! The Red Light's On
  • 15.Hit the Ramp
  • 16.I Like to Riff
  • 17.Call the Police
  • 18.Are You Fer It?
  • 19.That Ain't Right
  • 20.Hit That Jive, Jack
  • 21.Indiana
  • 22.I Can't Get Started

Tracks on Disc 6:

  • 1.Tea for Two
  • 2.Body and Soul
  • 3.Vom, Vim, Veedle
  • 4.All for You
  • 5.Hip Hip Hooray
  • 6.I Know That You Know
  • 7.I'm Gonna Move to the Outskirts of Town
  • 8.Pitchin' Up a Boogie
  • 9.I'm Lost
  • 10.Beautiful Moons Ago
  • 11.Let's Spring One
  • 12.Slender, Tender, and Tall
  • 13.I've Found a New Baby
  • 14.Rosetta
  • 15.Sweet Lorraine
  • 16.I Blowed and Gone
  • 17.Solid Potato Salad
  • 18.F.S.T. (Fine, Sweet & Tasty)
  • 19.Got a Penny
  • 20.Let's Pretend
  • 21.My Lips Remember Your Kisses
  • 22.I'm an Errand Boy for Rhythm
  • 23.Straighten Up and Fly Right

Tracks on Disc 7:

  • 1.Honey Hush
  • 2.By the River St. Marie
  • 3.I Like to Riff
  • 4.Black Spider Stomp
  • 5.Sweet Lorraine
  • 6.Early Morning Blues
  • 7.Gone with the Draft
  • 8.Trompin'
  • 9.Sweet Lorraine
  • 10.Gone with the Draft
  • 11.Scotchin' with the Soda
  • 12.Gone with the Draft
  • 13.The Romany Room Is Jumpin'
  • 14.Hit That Jive, Jack
  • 15.Beautiful Moons Ago
  • 16.Honeysuckle Rose
  • 17.I Know That You Know
  • 18.Solid Potato Salad
  • 19.My Lips Remember Your Kisses
  • 20.Straighten Up and Fly Right

Product Description:

By any measure, Resonance's 2019 box Hittin' the Ramp: The Early Years (1936-1943) is a monumental achievement in musical preservation. Over the course of seven CDs (or 10 LPs), Hittin' the Ramp chronicles the earliest recordings of Nat King Cole, rounding up every known track from the days prior to his time at Capitol Records. Those records for Capitol -- sessions that found him slowly transitioning from a swinging jazz pianist to smooth pop crooner -- were what brought Cole lasting fame, but the sides on Hittin' the Ramp lie at the foundation of his music. Playing with a trio comprised of guitarist Oscar Moore and usually Wesley Prince on bass (Johnny Miller took over his role toward the end of 1942), Cole essayed a sly, sophisticated spin on swing, one that relied on a standards songbook yet found plenty of space for blues, boogie, and originals. The standards hint at the refined vocal style Cole developed at Capitol, but the focus here isn't on singing, it's on Cole as a bandleader. During the eight years covered on this set, he worked in a variety of formats, beginning as the musical director for his older brother Eddie in 1936, then sharpening his skills as a leader with his trio. The group worked hard, supporting vocalists and hopping through transcription services as they cut the occasional session for fledgling labels. While many of these sides, particularly the ones recorded for Decca, have been reissued numerous times on fly-by-night imprints, the producers of Hittin' the Ramp took the effort to remaster these recordings so they gleam, then placed them in exacting context, augmented by notes by Will Friedwald. As history, the set is essential, but Hittin' the Ramp isn't a mere scholastic text. The music is jumping, lively, and alive, still brimming with wit and joy. As valuable as it is to have a way to trace the evolution of Cole as a stylist during these early years, it's simply a delight to have these recordings so thoughtfully and lovingly presented. ~ Stephen Thomas Erlewine

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 109,406
  • UPC: 712758040381
  • Shipping Weight: 0.76/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 7 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)