Little Richard Very Best of The Vee-Jay Years, Volume 1

Very Best of The Vee-Jay Years, Volume 1
Get email alerts for Little Richard
4 ratings
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $7.99 (62% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  ZVC 17247
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

The wild and uncompromising Little Richard refined, defined, and revitalized rock and roll with a string of incredible hits in the '50s. Idolized by many of rock's greatest performers. This disc features the best of the tracks he recorded for Vee-Jay in 1964. H ighlights include "Long Tall Sally", "Slippin' and Slidin'", and "Lucille", and reportedly features session work by Jimi Hendrix.


  • 1.Long Tall Sally
  • 2.Dancing All Around The World
  • 3.Send Me Some Lovin'
  • 4.Lawdy Miss Clawdy
  • 5.Why Don't You Love Me
  • 6.Slippin' & Slidin'
  • 7.Dance What You Wanna
  • 8.Keep A Knockin'
  • 9.Groovy Little Suzie
  • 10.Cherry Red
  • 11.She's Got It
  • 12.Something Moves In My Heart
  • 13.Lucille
  • 14.Goin' Home Tomorrow
  • 15.Money Honey
  • 16.Ooh My Soul
  • 17.You'd Better Stop
  • 18.Memories Are Made Of This
  • 19.Belle Star (Instrumental)
  • 20.I Don't Know What You Got

Product Description:

Digitally remastered by Walter DeVenne.
This is the first of two volumes devoted to the recordings Little Richard made for Vee Jay in the mid-'60s, many of which were re-recordings of his classic Specialty sides. The remakes aren't particularly interesting except for Little Richard's attempts to update them with loud drums and hysterical performances. The newer material veers toward soul rather than rock & roll, but still sounds pretty retro for its time. More noteworthy are the bizarre interpretations of "Memories Are Made of This" (a number one hit for Dean Martin) and Hank Williams' "Why Don't You Love Me." Volume one includes Little Richard's lone Vee Jay hit, the soulful "I Don't Know What You've Got but It's Got Me." ~ Greg Adams
Collectables Records
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 10,122
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)