Maceo Woods Amazing Grace / Seeking Salvation

Amazing Grace / Seeking Salvation
Get email alerts for Maceo Woods
4 ratings
SALE: $2.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $9.99 (77% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  ZVC 17221
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Vee Jay 18002 (1975)
  • Original Album #2: Vee-Jay 5001 (1959)

Description by

This compact disc contains two albums by Chicago organist Maceo Woods that were originally released on the Vee-Jay record label. An extremely popular gospel organist and choir director, Woods' rendition of "Amazing Grace" is one of the bestselling gospel songs of all-time.


  • 1.Amazing Grace
  • 2.Near The Cross
  • 3.Old Rugged Cross
  • 4.I Know
  • 5.Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 6.Land
  • 7.The Lord Will Make A Way
  • 8.Sunday Morning
  • 9.Old Ship Of Zion
  • 10.What A Friend We Have In Jesus
  • 11.Steal Away
  • 12.Precious Love
  • 13.Come Out Of The Wilderness
  • 14.Stretch Out
  • 15.Danny Boy
  • 16.Just A Little Walk
  • 17.God Be With You
  • 18.Something Within Me
  • 19.Joy To The World
  • 20.His Eye Is On The Sparrow
  • 21.Seeking Salvation

Product Description:

Originally released on Vee-Jay (18002) & Vee-Jay (5001).
This discount-priced two-fer combines two Rev. Maceo Woods albums from the vaults of Vee-Jay Records, 1959's Amazing Grace and 1975's Seeking Salvation. (The annotations on the back cover get the original release information backwards.) On the 12 tracks from Amazing Grace, Woods plays a church organ on a series of spirituals, putting his own spin on the familiar tunes. The material from Seeking Salvation, which appears to have been a belated release of early-'60s recordings the first time around, combines more of Woods' instrumental interpretations with vocal numbers performed by a chorus. Woods is an effective organist, but this is music best-appreciated by the religious faithful or organ aficionados. ~ William Ruhlmann
Collectables Records
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 2,453
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)