Alex Bradford Pop Gospel Live From London (with Chris Barber) / Soul Of

Get email alerts for Alex Bradford
SALE: $11.99
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $0.98 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 10 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZVC 17211
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by

Alex Bradford creates traditional inspirational works as well as non-traditional pieces by teaming with British bandleader Chris Barber on this recording, in which Dixieland and Gospel are combined to form one irresistible and exhilarating musical experience. This is Gospel music at its' finest, including "Just A Closer Walk With Thee," "Obey His Will," and "All That I Own," all as performed by the captivating Bradford Singers.


  • 1.We Sure Do Need Him Now
  • 2.God Leads His Dear Children Along
  • 3.Can't Trust Nobody
  • 4.Jesus Is The Lover Of My Soul
  • 5.Walking Up Kings Highway
  • 6.They've Got To Wait On Me
  • 7.Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  • 8.They Kicked Him Out
  • 9."Lord, Lord, Lord"
  • 10.I Never Shall Forget
  • 11.Living Between Two Worlds
  • 12.What Goes Around
  • 13.Someone Is Lost In The Storm
  • 14.Doors Can Be Opened To You
  • 15.Look Into My Heart
  • 16.Obey His Will
  • 17.All That I Own
  • 18.The Last Goodbye
  • 19.A Stranger In Town
  • 20.He Made It Plain
  • 21.Won't Have To March No More
  • 22.Burden's Down

Product Description:

Originally released on Vee-Jay (1069) & Vee-Jay (5056).
Personnel: Prof. Alex Bradford (vocals); Kenneth Washington, Bernie Durant Jr., Madeline Bell (vocals); Eddie Smith (banjo); Ian Wheeler (clarinet, alto saxophone); Patrick Halcox (trumpet); Chris Barber (trombone); Graham Burbridge (drums).
Recording information: Olympic Studios, London, England (01/15/1963/01/22/1963).
These two Vee-Jay albums are a study in contrast. Pop Gospel shows Bradford adrift from gospel and pursuing his showbiz ambitions, always a better idea on-stage than in the more coldly analytical atmosphere of the recording studio, where all the seams show. At times it verges on unlistenable and it's never far from corny. But The Soul of Alex Bradford is a fine piece of work, even if it lacks the chills and thrills of his Specialty heyday. Annotation reproduces the original LP notes. For completists only. ~ Dave Marsh
Collectables Records
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 27,017
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)