John Prine In Person & On Stage (Live)

Uncut: 4 stars out of 5 -- "This terrific live album, cleverly edited from random shows over the last decade, is likely to satiate admirers of every stripe."
Get email alerts for John Prine
Price: $13.60
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.38 (3% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
16 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  6HJE7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: May 31, 2010
  • Originally Released: 2010
  • Label: Oh Boy

Entertainment Reviews:

Uncut - p.92
4 stars out of 5 -- "This terrific live album, cleverly edited from random shows over the last decade, is likely to satiate admirers of every stripe."
Record Collector (magazine) - p.89
3 stars out of 5 -- "[I]t's the evocative narrative of 'The Late John Garfield Blues' and the gentle disillusionment of 'Paradise' that truly hit home..."


  • 1.Spanish Pipe Dream
  • 2.She Is My Everything
  • 3.In Spite of Ourselves - (featuring Iris DeMent)
  • 4.Long Monday
  • 5.The Late John Garfield Blues
  • 6.The Bottomless Lake
  • 7.Bear Creek Blues
  • 8.Saddle in the Rain
  • 9.Angel from Montgomery - (featuring Emmylou Harris)
  • 10.Your Flag Decal Won't Get You into Heaven Anymore
  • 11.Mexican Home - (featuring Josh Ritter)
  • 12.Unwed Fathers - (featuring Iris DeMent)
  • 13.Glory of True Love
  • 14.Paradise - (featuring Kane Welch Kaplin)

Product Description:

Personnel: Jason Wilber (guitar, mandolin, background vocals); Dave Jacques (upright bass, electric bass, background vocals); John Prine (vocals, acoustic guitar, electric guitar).
Audio Mixers: Andrew Primus; Nic Faddy.
Recording information: Exactly Odo Mix House, Murfreesboro, TN.
Photographer: Jim Shea.
A die-hard fan could, by now, accuse John Prine of coasting and have a good argument. Of the few albums he's released since the turn of the century, only one, 2005's Fair & Square, contained new material, and that one came only after a songwriting hiatus of about a decade. Why Prine has virtually given up on producing new material is known, one would assume, only to him, and that's a shame, because in Prine's prime, the '70s and '80s, he was not just prolific but consistently brilliant. In Person & On Stage, it should come as no surprise given the title, that this is yet another rehash, Prine's third official live album, with nary a new tune aboard. Cut at different shows with guitarist/mandolinist Jason Wilber and bassist Dave Jacques, both of whom also provide background vocals, the collection also features a number of guest artists, among them Iris DeMent, Josh Ritter, and Emmylou Harris, who is her usual arresting self on "Angel from Montgomery," a track from Prine's 1971 debut that has since become quite possibly his most covered composition. Prine also draws from that debut with updated renditions of "Spanish Pipedream" (which opens the album), "Paradise" (which closes it), and "Your Flag Decal Won't Get You into Heaven Anymore," but he doesn't restrict himself to older material, offering four songs from the above-mentioned Fair & Square, as well. Prine's performance is solid -- his voice has gotten grainier over the years, but his delivery is no less impassioned. Now if only he would get back to writing. ~ Jeff Tamarkin

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 60,550
  • UPC: 094012003920
  • Shipping Weight: 0.07/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)