The Rolling Stones Goats Head Soup (Box) (Dlx) (Ltd) (Ogv)

Q (Magazine): 4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he best Stones album nobody talks about...[with the] brisk rocker 'Silver Train' and meditative ballad 'Coming Down Again'..."
Get email alerts for The Rolling Stones
SALE: $104.49
List Price: $124.98
You Save: $20.49 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP  (4 Records)
item number:  GLP 13801
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 4
  • Released: September 4, 2020
  • Originally Released: 2020
  • Label: Interscope Records

Entertainment Reviews:

Q (Magazine) - p.136
4 stars out of 5 -- "[T]he best Stones album nobody talks about...[with the] brisk rocker 'Silver Train' and meditative ballad 'Coming Down Again'..."
NME (Magazine) - 7/9/94, p.43
6 - Good - "...the jaded Stones struggle to stave off burnout..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Brown Sugar
  • 2.100 Years Ago
  • 3.Coming Down Again
  • 4.Angie
  • 5.Angie

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Silver Train
  • 2.Hide Your Love
  • 3.Winter
  • 4.Can You Hear The Music
  • 5.Star Star

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Scarlet
  • 2.All The Rage
  • 3.Criss Cross
  • 4.100 Years Ago (Piano Demo)
  • 5.Dancing With Mr. D. (Instrumental)

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Heartbreaker (Instrumental)
  • 2.Hide Your Love (Alternative Mix)
  • 3.Dancing With Mr. D. (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
  • 4.Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker) (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)
  • 5.Silver Train (Glyn Johns 1973 Mix)

Product Description:

The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals, guitar, harmonica, piano); Keith Richards, Mick Taylor (guitar, bass, background vocals); Bill Wyman (bass); Charlie Watts (drums).
Additional personnel: Jim Horn (flute, alto saxophone); Bobby Keys (tenor & baritone saxophones); Chuck Finley (trumpet); Ian Stewart, Nicky Hopkins (piano); Billy Preston (keyboards); Pascal, Rebop, Jimmy Miller (percussion).
Recorded at Dynamic Sound Studios, Kingston, Jamaica.
Following the enormous success of EXILE ON MAIN STREET, GOATS HEAD SOUP found the Rolling Stones jetting down to Jamaica in 1973 and tweaking their rebellious image with a bit of voodoo imagery. Kicking things off with "Dancing With Mr. D.," the Stones picked up the thread of "Sympathy For The Devil" and gilded their already hedonistic reputation with some Satanic allusions. References to Beezelbub aside, SOUP offered up some of the Stones' more heartfelt ballads including "Winter," "Coming Down Again," and the lilting, minor-key classic "Angie."
Of course, being known as "The World's Greatest Rock 'n' Roll Band" means a number of songs more than back up this moniker. Among them are "Doo Doo Doo Doo Doo (Heartbreaker)," propelled by Mick Taylor's wah-wah pedal and Billy Preston's electric piano, and the twang and slide guitar of "Silver Train." There's an abundance of cheeky attitude here despite a slew of slow songs, and the Stones close out with a nasty, backhanded tribute to groupies called "Star Star." Though GOAT'S HEAD SOUP does not hold up to the four studio masterpieces that preceded it (BEGGAR'S BANQUET, LET IT BLEED, STICKY FINGERS, and EXILE ON MAIN STREET), it is still full of strong songwriting, great playing, and plenty of classic Stonesy swagger.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 65,293
  • UPC: 602508939815
  • Shipping Weight: 3.98/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)