Glen Gray Limehouse Blues

Get email alerts for Glen Gray
SALE: $7.99
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $4.98 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZVC 17157
Brand New

CD Details

  • Digitally Mastered By: Little Walter DeVenne
  • Liner Notes: Al Fichera
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Vee-Jay E-4005 (1975)

Description by

Originally released under the title "Glen Gray 1907-1963" in 1975, this compilation of twelve Glen Gray recordings was part of Vee-Jay's Epitaph Historical Jazz Series.


  • 1.Limehouse Blues
  • 2.Wolverine Blues
  • 3.Copenhagen
  • 4.Ol' Man River
  • 5.Chinatown My Chinatown
  • 6.Walkin' The Dog
  • 7.Maniac's Ball
  • 8.Linger Awhile
  • 9.Can't We Be Friends
  • 10.White Star Stomp
  • 11.Stompin' Around
  • 12.Black Jazz

Product Description:

& The Casa Loma Orchestra.
Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
In the mid-'30s, Glen Gray & the Casa Loma Orchestra were a popular, polite society band. They didn't fit in with the burgeoning harder swing bands of the time. This set, however, reveals the band taking a shot at some straight-ahead jazz material with surprisingly entertaining results, especially on "Chinatown My Chinatown," "Limehouse Blues," and Jelly Roll Morton's "Wolverine Blues." Even though this 2003 Collectables reissue is a bit skimpy at only 12 tracks, the quality of the performances makes it recommended to fans of both sweet bands and early swing. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records
Rare & Hard-To-Find Audio CDs

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 40,598
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)