E-40 The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 2

Get email alerts for E-40
15 ratings
Price: $15.40
List Price: $15.98
You Save: $0.58 (4% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  3C2JC
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 26, 2012
  • Originally Released: 2012
  • Label: Heavy On Grind Ent.


  • 1.I'm Laced
  • 2.On the Case
  • 3.Function
  • 4.Tryna Get It - (featuring Twista / T-Pain)
  • 5.Street N*gga
  • 6.Other Day Ago, The - (featuring Celly Cel)
  • 7.This Is the Life - (featuring Sam Bostic)
  • 8.Everything
  • 9.My Life - (featuring R.O.D.)
  • 10.Grey Skies - (featuring Deltrice)
  • 11.With the Sh*t - (featuring JT the Bigga Figga / Cellski)
  • 12.Hittin' a Lick - (featuring C-BO)
  • 13.This Sh*t Hard
  • 14.Scorpio - (featuring Tech N9ne)
  • 15.Red & Blue Lights
  • 16.Zombie - (featuring Tech N9ne / Brotha Lynch Hung)
  • 17.Memory Lane - (featuring Andre Nickatina)
  • 18.I Know I Can Make It - (featuring Suga T)

Product Description:

Recording information: Mega Million Studio; Street Symphony Studio; The Orange Room; The Retro Room Studios.
Much in the same way he released his 11th and 12th albums in 2010, and his 13th and 14th albums in 2011, E-40's 15th, 16th, and 17th albums were all released on the same day. That may look prolific, but The Block Brochure: Welcome to the Soil 1, 2, or 3 -- or the three-CD set that boxes them all -- is proof that almost every E-40 mixtape you've seen is a bootleg and that in 2011, "getting paid" is at the top of the rapper's list. The second volume, like the first, seems to start mid-mixtape as the off-kilter "I'm Laced" ignores the massiveness of the project. It just doesn't feel big enough as an opener, but the glorious backseat number, "Tryna Get It" with Twista and T-Pain does, and two numbers later, it's like the old-school returned with a full clip as Spice 1 and Celly Cel join for the superior gangster number "The Other Day Ago." Minimal bass and scrappy attitude turn "Function" into a five-star pusher anthem, while "Zombie" finds Tech N9ne's love of monsters and E-40's endless bag of slang-filled punch lines combining for that special brand of horror hyphy that was explored on 2011's great Revenue Retrievin': Graveyard Shift. Speaking of which, when compared to the Revenue Retrievin' onslaught, which was sorted into thematic sets (Day, Night, etc.), these unwieldy Block Brochures come off as a hyphy data dump, leaving all executive production up to the listener. ~ David Jeffries

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 117,775
  • UPC: 852020002331
  • Shipping Weight: 0.15/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)