Steve Arrington Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame, Volume 1

Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame, Volume 1
Get email alerts for Steve Arrington
14 ratings
Price: $13.25
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.73 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  67Q2G
Brand New
Related products:
Cameosis for $9.89

CD Details

  • Released: July 8, 1997
  • Originally Released: 1997
  • Label: Atlantic


  • 1.Nobody Can Be You
  • 2.You Meet My Approval
  • 3.Last Nite / Nite Before
  • 4.Strange (Soft & Hard)
  • 5.Speak With Your Body
  • 6.Weak at the Knees
  • 7.Beddie-Biey
  • 8.Way Out
  • 9.Pocketful of Air - (bonus track)
  • 10.At It Again - (bonus track)
  • 11.I Love You - (bonus track)
  • 12.Way Out - (Frankie Crocker remix, bonus track)

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Steve Arrington (vocals, guitar, keyboards, bass, drums); Kevin Eubanks (guitar, bass); Arthur Rhaimes (guitar); Bruce Victor Godsey (flute, keyboards, background vocals); Charles Carter (saxophone, keyboards, background vocals); Sam Carter (keyboards, background vocals); Buddy Hankerson (bass, background vocals); Roger Parker (drums, background vocals) Gary Jackson (percussion, background vocals).
"Pocketful Of Air," "At It Again," "I Love You" and "Way Out (Frankie Crocker remix)" did not appear on the original version of STEVE ARRINGTON'S HALL OF FAME: I.
Producers: Steve Arrington, Charles Carter, Jimmy Douglass.
Recorded at Boogie Hotel, Port Jefferson, New York; Atlantic Studios, New York, New York. Includes liner notes by A. Scott Galloway.
After recording many memorable R&B hits with Slave, Steve Arrington pursued a moderately successful solo career with his eight-member band, then abandoned secular music for a life of religion. Given his post-musical endeavors, one might expect more gospel in Arrington's R&B workouts, but aside from thanking God Almighty in the liner notes, there's far more Prince than Al Green on this release. Arrington is a confident, sensual vocalist, perfectly suited to cocky material like "You Meet My Approval." Despite the presence of so many musicians, the songs are often minimal funk and dance vamps driven by guitar and keyboard, with hooky choruses set up by suggestive titles like "Weak at the Knees," "Strange (Soft & Hard)," and "Speak With Your Body." On occasion the entire band is featured together, and the integration of flute and saxophone adds depth to the group's aggressive beat. The closest Arrington gets to spirituality is the opening guidance of "Nobody Can Be You," which reached the R&B Top 20. But the song that should've been a hit is the playfully sexy "Last Nite/Nite Before," a gem worthy of a Prince cover version. A few years later, Arrington's solo career would peak with Dancin' in the Key of Life, so Steve Arrington's Hall of Fame, Vol. 1 serves as a fairly entertaining bridge between the periods of success which highlighted his career. ~ Vince Ripol

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 34,424
  • UPC: 081227275426
  • Shipping Weight: 0.21/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)