Travis Man Who [20th Anniversary Deluxe Edition 2CD/2LP Box Set] (4-CD Box Set)

Rolling Stone: Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".
Get email alerts for Travis
Price: $74.50
List Price: $79.98
You Save: $5.48 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP  (4 Records)
item number:  6VE49
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Number of Records: 4
  • Released: June 21, 2019
  • Originally Released: 2019
  • Label: Craft Recordings

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 1/4/01, p.117
Included in Rolling Stone's "Top 50 Albums of 2000".
Rolling Stone - 4/27/00, p.66
3.5 stars out of 5 - "...Sentimental pub rock at its warmest, with gorgeous guitar hooks and boy-next-door sincerity....If you have any weakness for sad-eyed Celtic troubadour pop [this album] will feed your jones and invite you to stay for supper."
Entertainment Weekly - 12/29/00, p.138
Ranked #4 in EW's Top 10 Albums of 2000 - "...Wimpiness never sounded so honorable..."
Q - 6/00, p.69
Ranked #54 in Q's "100 Greatest British Albums" - "...A succession of great moments stitched together with a craftman's care, sprinkled with a hint of lonliness..."
Alternative Press - 4/00, p.104
3 out of 5 - "...As ethereal post-Britpop goes, this is top-shelf material; the lyrics sound simultaneously hip and self-defeatist...and singer Fran Healy sounds suitably depressed..."
CMJ - 3/27/00, p.3
"...rapturous melodies and a sense of hopeful radiance within an otherwise sad and gloomy art-pop framework....a compelling work of beauty...".

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Writing To Reach You
  • 2.The Fear
  • 3.As You Are
  • 4.Driftwood
  • 5.The Last Laugh Of The Laughter
  • 6.Turn
  • 7.Why Does It Always Rain On Me?
  • 8.Luv
  • 9.She's So Strange
  • 10.Slide Show

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Green Behind The Ears
  • 2.Only Molly Knows
  • 3.Luv
  • 4.High As A Kite
  • 5.Be My Baby
  • 6.Where Is The Love
  • 7.Village Man
  • 8.Driftwood (Live)
  • 9.The Urge For Going
  • 10.Slide Show (Live)
  • 11.River
  • 12.Days Of Our Lives
  • 13.We Are Monkeys
  • 14.Baby One More Time (In Session)
  • 15.Coming Around
  • 16.Just The Faces Change
  • 17.The Connection
  • 18.Rock 'n' (Roll) Salad
  • 19.The Weight

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Village Man
  • 2.Only Molly Knows
  • 3.Rock 'n' (Salad) Roll
  • 4.The Connection
  • 5.We Are Monkeys

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.The Weight
  • 2.Baby One More Time (In Session)
  • 3.Be My Baby
  • 4.River

Product Description:

Travis: Fran Healy, Dougie, Andy, Neil.
Additional personnel includes: Sarah Wilson (cello).
Engineers include: Gerard Navarro.
After a debut album that presented Travis as mostly cheerful Brit-poppers and had a clear, crisp Steve Lillywhite production, the band changed things up on their second album, The Man Who. The foursome turned to Radiohead and Beck producer Nigel Goodrich to give their sound some depth while also writing a batch of songs that delved deeply into melancholy and sadness. So much so that when the record label first heard the results, they sent the band back into the studio to write some more upbeat tunes. Songwriter Fran Healy responded with "Driftwood," a seriously catchy song that nobody would dare call cheerful. The dourness and gloom of the songs is a perfect fit for the richly spacious production Goodrich brings to the table and Healy's majestically crooned vocals. He has pipes and range enough to fill a stadium or whisper in the listeners' ear just as convincingly. The band proves skilled at crafting big, echoing songs that never lapse into pomposity and can be taken down to low volumes and not lose any intensity. "Driftwood" is one stunning example of their blend of quiet tenderness and expansive reach; its acoustic guitar underpinnings, soaring guitar lines, strings, and Healy's heavenly vocals all combine to drive the song deep into the memory. Even more sticky is the band's early career highlight, "Why Does It Always Rain on Me?" It's a jangling, heartbreaking song with a huge chorus, beautiful strings, subtle production, and truly lovely vocals. These two tracks are hard to match, but much of the album comes close. "The Fear" is rambling, loosely played, dark pop that conjures up vintage Van Morrison, "She's So Strange" is a lilting Beatlesque ballad with nice vocal harmonies, and "Writing to Reach You," with its rollicking tempo and fiery guitar leads, almost rocks in context. Only "Turn" strays a bit too far into overwrought territory and sounds out of place among the other quietly melancholic and blue songs. The band and Goodrich work hard to create a mood and apart from that one song -- and the much heavier "Blue Flashing Lights" that the band added as a secret track -- it remains unbroken and a heavy gloom lingers over the songs, which gives the soft melodies and sympathetic performances some real weight. The Man Who is a career-defining record for Travis, setting a course for their brand of medium drama guitar pop and trumpeting Fran Healy as one of the great voices of early-2000s British pop. ~ Tim Sendra
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 888072091924
  • Shipping Weight: 3.24/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)