Spike Jones Strictly for Music Lovers [Box Set] (4-CD Box Set)

Get email alerts for Spike Jones
18 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $20.98
You Save: $9 (43% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 1 copy left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
item number:  ZPRB 005
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: May 10, 1999
  • Originally Released: 1999
  • Label: Proper Box Uk

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 1/00, p.138
3 stars out of 5 - "...Utilising Dixieland jazz decorated by the sounds of cowbells, gunshots, cuckoo clocks, klaxon horns and toy whistles, his band fought an aural conflict....This 4CD set fully documents the lunacy..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Barstool Cowboy From Old Barstow
  • 2.Behind Those Swinging Doors
  • 3.Red Wing
  • 4.The Covered Wagon Rolled Right Along
  • 5.Clink, Clink, Another Drink
  • 6.Little Bo-Peep Has Lost Her Jeep
  • 7.Pack up Your Troubles in Your Old Kit Bag
  • 8.Three Little Words
  • 9.When Buddah Smiles
  • 10.You're a Sap Mister Jap
  • 11.Never Hit Your Grandma With a Shovel
  • 12.Horsey, Keep Your Tail Up
  • 13.Camptown Races
  • 14.John Scotter Trot
  • 15.Love For Sale
  • 16.Moanin' Low
  • 17.Cheatin' on the Sandman
  • 18.Come Josephine in My Flying Machine
  • 19.The Sailor With the Navy Blue Eyes
  • 20.Der Fuehrer's Face
  • 21.Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya Russian Folk Songs)
  • 22.I Wanna Go Back to West Virginia
  • 23.Water Lou (Drip, Drip, Drip)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Shiek of Araby
  • 2.One by Jingo
  • 3.I'm Going to Write Home
  • 4.Hi Ho My Lady
  • 5.I Know a Story
  • 6.St-St-St-Stella
  • 7.Hotcha Cornia (Hotcha Chornya Russian Folk Songs)
  • 8.Down in Jungle Town
  • 9.As Time Goes By
  • 10.People Will Say We're in Love
  • 11.G.I. Haircut
  • 12.It Never Rains in Sunny California
  • 13.Wang Wang Blues
  • 14.My Little Girl
  • 15.The Sound Effects Man
  • 16.Ragtime Cowboy Joe
  • 17.The Vamp
  • 18.He Broke My Heart in Three Places
  • 19.Besame Mucho
  • 20.I'm Goin' Back to Where I Come From
  • 21.There's a Fly on My Music
  • 22.Row, Row, Row
  • 23.I Wanna a Gal Just Like the Gal That Married Dear Old Dad
  • 24.Jingle Bells

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Cocktails For Two
  • 2.And the Great Big Saw Came Nearer and Nearer
  • 3.Red Grow the Roses
  • 4.Jamboree Jones
  • 5.Whittle Out a Whistle
  • 6.Casey Jones
  • 7.At Last I'm First With You
  • 8.Down by the O-Hi-O
  • 9.Holiday For Strings
  • 10.Cocktails For Two
  • 11.Leave the Dishes in the Sink, Ma
  • 12.Serenade to a Jerk
  • 13.Drip, Drip, Drip (Sloppy Lagoon)
  • 14.Chloe
  • 15.The Blue Danube
  • 16.Black Bottom
  • 17.Toot, Toot, Tootsie Goodbye
  • 18.MacNamara's Band
  • 19.Siam
  • 20.Liebestraume
  • 21.You'll Always Hurt the One You Love
  • 22.That Old Black Magic
  • 23.Mother Goose Medley
  • 24.Hawaiian War Chant

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Old MacDonald Had a Farm
  • 2.I Dream of Brownie With the Light Blue Jeans
  • 3.The Glow Worm
  • 4.Laura
  • 5.Jones Polka
  • 6.The Jones Laughing Record
  • 7.William Tell Overture
  • 8.My Pretty Girl
  • 9.Rhapsody From Hunger (Y)
  • 10.I'm in the Mood For Love
  • 11.When Yuba Plays the Rumba on the Tuba
  • 12.Blowing Bubble Gum, (I'm Forever)
  • 13.Love in Bloom
  • 14.The Man on the Flying Trapeze
  • 15.Popcorn Sack
  • 16.Our Hour (The Puppy Love Song)
  • 17.My Old Flame
  • 18.People Are Funnier Than Anybody
  • 19.By the Beautiful Sea
  • 20.I'm Getting Sentimental Over You
  • 21.I Kiss Your Hand Madame
  • 22.All I Want For Christmas (Is My Two Front Teeth)
  • 23.Ill Barkio (Il Bacio)
  • 24.None But the Lonely Heart (A Soaperetta)

Product Description:

& His City Slickers.
Includes 24-page booklet.
Personnel: Spike Jones (vocals, tuba); Beauregard Lee (vocals, spoken vocals); Dr. Horatio Q. Birdbath (vocals, whistling); Del Porter (vocals, clarinet); George Rock (vocals, trumpet); Carl Grayson (vocals, sound effects); Ben Ghost Singers, Dick Morgan, Quartet , Boys in the Backroom, Ina Souez, Luther Roundtree, Paul Judson, Freddie Morgan, Elsa Nilsson , Jimmy Cassidy, Aileen Carlisle, Sir Frederick Gas, Country Washburne, King Jackson, Mickey Katz, Paul Frees, Red Ingle (vocals); Helen Grayco (spoken vocals); Dick Gardner (violin); Tommy Pederson (trombone); Willie Spicer, Mel Blanc (sound effects).
Liner Note Author: Joop Visser.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (08/08/1941-12/23/1947).
Unknown Contributor Roles: George Rock; Willie Spicer; Frank Leithner; Mel Blanc.
This four-disc set provides the ultimate guide to the musical madness of Spike Jones, the bandleader whose inspired insanity provided comic relief whenever the mainstream musical styles of the day seemed too serious. Along with his City Slickers, Jones specialized in parodic versions of material from the worlds of pop, jazz, country, classical, you name it--no genre was safe from his sonic terrorism.
Instead of merely tacking funny lyrics onto a familiar tune, Jones took a comprehensive approach to musical mockery, filling his arrangements with everything from animal noises to shattering glass and revving machinery (was he the first proto-industrial artist?) for a truly unhinged effect. The wealth of vintage (1930/40s) material here, including Spike's deconstructions of "Tea for Two," "The Sheik of Araby," and more, makes it clear that he was the godfather of comedy in music.

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,384
  • UPC: 604988990522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.44/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)