Get email alerts for Great Big Sea
38 ratings
Price: $13.25
List Price: $13.98
You Save: $0.73 (5% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  37HDF
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 7, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Rhino


  • 1.Consequence Free
  • 2.Can't Stop Falling
  • 3.Feel It Turn
  • 4.Jack Hinks
  • 5.Boston and St. John's
  • 6.Margarita
  • 7.Trois Navires de Ble
  • 8.Ferryland Sealer
  • 9.Demasduit Dream
  • 10.Old Brown's Daughter
  • 11.I'm a Rover
  • 12.Captain Wedderburn
  • 13.Bad as I Am

Product Description:

Great Big Sea: Alan Doyle (vocals, guitar, bouzouki, mandola, mandolin); Darrell Power (vocals, guitar, bass); Sean McCann (vocals, guitar, bodhran, percussion, shaker); Bob Hallett (vocals, bouzouki, mandolin, fiddle, button accordion, concertina, tin & low whistles).
Additional personnel: The Chieftains.
Recorded at First City Productions, St. John's, Newfoundland.
Turn is Great Big Sea's third major label release, and the band's third one-word titled CD (following 1995's Up and 1997's Play). Along with the similarity of titles there is a similarity of music. This CD differs very little from the group's past releases. Great Big Sea continues to produce energetic, rock-flavored Celtic music, almost a cross between Spirit of the West and Weddings, Parties, Anything. In fact, the only change noticeable on this CD is that the band seems to sound more like Spirit of the West. Perhaps this is the influence of using Steve Berlin as a co-producer this time around instead of Danny Greenspoon, who was used on previous releases. One would think that Berlin would add a rougher edge to the music; however, the opposite is true. The assistance of the Chieftains also contributes to the well-defined Celtic sound. As usual, the traditional East Coast maritime folk songs are here -- the cover version of "Old Brown's Daughter" using Ron Hynes' tune instead of the traditional tune is breathtaking -- and the interpretations are always entertaining. The band also writes its own material, which differs little from other releases. Overall, the CD is good; the music is well-played and the band sounds great. The only problem is that Great Big Sea has not grown very much over the past few years. In this sense, fans will not be disappointed, but casual listeners will have a hard time distinguishing this CD from any of the band's other releases. ~ Aaron Badgley

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 643443108522
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)