The Coasters Very Best of The Coasters

Get email alerts for The Coasters
37 ratings
Price: $6.40
Currently Out of Stock: We'll get more as soon as possible
Notify Me When Available
Format:  CD
item number:  WD5V
on most orders of $75+
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: July 28, 2009
  • Originally Released: 2009
  • Label: Rhino Flashback

Entertainment Reviews:

Q - 8/94, p.119
4 Stars - Excellent - "...It is the best Coasters compilation on the market....These 17 songs were written and produced by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller, around half of which could be hummed or whistled with ease by any serious rocker..."


  • 1.Riot In Cell Block No. 9
  • 2.Smokey Joe's Cafe
  • 3.Down In Mexico
  • 4.Searchin'
  • 5.Idol With the Golden Head
  • 6.Young Blood
  • 7.Yakety Yak
  • 8.Charlie Brown
  • 9.Along Came Jones
  • 10.That is Rock and Roll
  • 11.I'm a Hog For You
  • 12.Poison Ivy
  • 13.What About Us
  • 14.Run Red Run
  • 15.Little Egypt
  • 16.Shoppin' For Clothes

Product Description:

The Coasters include: Carl Gardner, Bobby Nunn, Leon Hughes, Billy Guy, Obie "Young" Jessie, Cornell Gunter, Will "Dub" Jones, Earl "Speedo" Carroll.
Producers: Jerry Leiber, Mike Stoller.
Compilation producer: Gary Stewart.
Includes liner notes by Randy Poe, Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller.
Digitally remastered by Bill Inglot and Dan Hersch (Digiprep).
This is not only the definitive Coasters greatest hits album, it's also a de facto best of Leiber and Stoller, the two legendary songwriter/producers responsible for all the songs here. Interestingly, Leiber says in the liner notes that his primary songwriting inspiration was radio plays.
For example, the sound effects on "Riot in Cell Block #9" were inspired by GANGBUSTERS, a popular crime series of the early '50s. This music is some of the best first-generation rock 'n' roll, with each comedic track brilliantly sung. Anybody who thought early rock was illiterate and a-musical obviously never listened to these songs.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 37 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
A Little Disapointing Music Lover: from PA -- March, 12, 2019

I ordered just hear Poison Ivy once again. The other songs, except some that were popular, didn't do it for me.

Similar Products


Product Info

  • UPC: 081227985301
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)