Zoot Sims The Rare Dawn Sessions

Get email alerts for Zoot Sims
SALE: $7.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $4.99 (38% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6943
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 25, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Collectables Records


  • 1.Down At The Loft
  • 2.Ghost Of A Chance
  • 3.Not So Deep
  • 4.Them There Eyes
  • 5.Our Pad
  • 6.Dark Clouds
  • 7.One To Blow On
  • 8.You're My Girl
  • 9.The Purple Cow
  • 10.Bye Ya

Product Description:

This CD is a bit of a disappointment, not for the music but for the packaging. During 1979-1980, Biograph came out with two Zoot Sims LPs (One to Blow On and The Big Stampede) that contained 16 selections in all. But this CD just has ten of the songs, seven of the eight tunes from the first album (why did they leave out "September in the Rain"?) and three of the eight numbers from the second date. The incomplete nature of this reissue series is a pity for the music is excellent. Sims's tenor fits in very well with the valve trombone of Bob Brookmeyer during the earlier quintet date and also blends nicely with the cool-toned trumpet of Jerry Lloyd on the final three numbers. The music is swinging with Sims already starting to show an original musical personality built out of the sound of Lester Young. But the CD is only recommended to those listeners unable to find the two earlier LPs. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,225
  • UPC: 090431694329
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)