Lloyd Price Sings The Million Sellers [import]

Get email alerts for Lloyd Price
Price: $25.40
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  Vinyl LP
item number:  7764E
on most orders of $75+
New Condition

Vinyl LP Details

  • Released: January 13, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2015
  • Label: Waxtime

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Spanish Harlem
  • 2.The Hoochie Coochie Coo
  • 3.I Count The Tears
  • 4.Corinna
  • 5.C'est Si Bon
  • 6.Shop Around
  • 7.Will You Love Me Tomorrow Written - By - Goffin and King

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Once In A While
  • 2.He Will Break Your Heart
  • 3.At Last
  • 4.Ain't That Just Like A Woman
  • 5.Save The Last Dance For Me Written - By - Doc Pomus, Mort Shuman

Product Description:

EU-only 180gm vinyl LP pressing including two bonus tracks and digital download. This quintessential LP edition includes one of Lloyd Price's finest albums, SINGS THE MILLION SELLERS (1961), long unavailable on vinyl. Here Price revisited some hits from the '50s and early '60s, doing particular justice to "Ain't That Just Like a Woman" (then a minor seller for Fats Domino), the Miracles' "Shop Around," Hank Ballard & the Midnighters' "The Hoochie Coochie Coo," and the Drifters' "I Count the Tears." Lloyd's selections for ABC were glossier than his first recordings for the Specialty label, complete with female backing vocals, strings, and pop production (this, of course, means that certain audiences don't consider them as raw and gritty as his Specialty recordings). The big band got bigger with the addition of brass and strings, but the sound was still recognizable as coming from Lloyd Price. These recordings feature a virtual who's who of all-star musicians, including Claude Green (tenor sax), Ted Curson (trumpet), Ernest McClean (guitar), Clarence Jones (bass), and William Brown (piano), among others. The album was taped in absolutely breathtaking stereo sound that greatly enhances the brass-heavy arrangements. in addition to the original masterpiece, this WaxTime collector's item contains 2 bonus tracks from the same period, which were co-composed by Price himself together with Harold Logan: The effervescent R&B number "For Love" and the lost gem "Question." There's no better proof of Lloyd Price's brilliance than these funny, energetic, sophisticated, and wonderful recordings.
Vinyl LPs

Similar Products


Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,849
  • UPC: 8436542017619
  • Shipping Weight: 0.65/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)