Jam Miami (A Celebration Of Latin Jazz)
by Various Artists

8 ratings
SALE: $12.70
List Price: $13.99
You Save: $1.29 (9% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZNL 8992
Brand New
Related products:
Orquesta Akokán for $13.60

CD Details

  • Released: September 26, 2000
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Concord Records, Inc.


  • 1.Guachi Guaro (Soul Sauce)
  • 2.A Night In Tunsia
  • 3.Medley Para Tito: Ran Kan Kan/Oye Como Va
  • 4.Ican
  • 5.Wigwam
  • 6.Ven Morena
  • 7.Poncho Con Su Tambor
  • 8.Besame Mama
  • 9.A Mis Abuelos
  • 10.Theme From I Love Lucy

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Oscar D'Leon (vocals); Ed Calle (tenor saxophone); Arturo Sandoval (trumpet, flugelhorn); Claudio Roditi, Ray Vega (trumpet); Steve Turre (trombone, conch shells); Nestor Torres, Dave Valentin (flute); Dave Samuels (vibraphone); Hilton Ruiz (piano); Chick Corea (Fender Rhodes piano); Horacio Hernandez (drums, percussion); Poncho Sanchez (congas); Pete Escovedo (timbales).
Origin includes: Steve Wilson (alto saxophone); Tim Garland (tenor saxophone); Steve Davis (trombone); Avishai Cohen (bass); Jeff Ballard (drums, percussion).
Includes liner notes by Mark Holston.
"I just want to celebrate" is the theme of Jam Miami: A Celebration of Latin Jazz, recorded "live" in Miami, FL, by legendary jazz masters Chick Corea, Arturo Sandoval, Pete Escovedo, and Poncho Sanchez. The heat and energy emanating from this incredible concert, one that has been dedicated to their friend and mentor Tito Puente, is preserved in an excellent collection of ten songs that feature an array of stellar arrangers, composers, and musicians. Ray Vega, Steve Turre, Avishai Cohen, Dave Samuels, Dave Valentin, Ed Calle, Nestor Torres, Oscar D'Leon, Horacio Hernandez, Claudio Roditi, Hilton Ruiz, Origin, and the Latin Jazz All-Star Band are having the time of their lives and really do jam on this one. Opening with the Latin soul hit "Guachi Guaro," this great collective introduces their stylistic diversity in a blaze of Sandoval trumpet glory that defies the conventional range of the instrument. Their spirits continue to soar with Dave Valentin blowing awesome flute trills in his solos on Ray Vega's arrangement of "Medley Para Tito." Vega's heartfelt salute featuring "Ran Kan Kan" and "Oye Como Va" is a definite jam, and from the sound of the cheers coming from the audience, the spirit of the recently departed Tito Puente must have filled the room. "Wigwam," the Grammy-nominated song by Chick Corea, features Origin at the core of its big-band arrangement. This expanded version offers listeners an exceptional opportunity to hear great improvisations and solos by the quintet backed by an exciting big-band format. Poncho Sanchez's conga mastery is historic on "Poncho Con Su Tambor," and for two minutes, he unloads his percussive thunder on this solo triumph. "A Mis Abuelos," a ten-minute masterpiece written by Arturo Sandoval, features his brilliant trumpet and fl?gelhorn playing surrounded by a dramatic display of Spanish beauty, spirituality, and fire. Horacio Hernandez on drums, Leo Quintero on guitar, and Chick Corea on Fender Rhodes are blazing against a backdrop of blaring horn charts that will send good chills down your spine. They end the set with a fiery jam of Desi Arnaz's, "Theme From I Love Lucy." This CD contains one great show that celebrates the innovative music of a multi-generational Latin jazz "family" and together they capture the ambience and heritage of many phenomenal Latin jazz experiences. ~ Paula Edelstein

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 73,614
  • UPC: 013431489924
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)