Herbie Mann Gagaku & Beyond / Astral Island (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Herbie Mann
Price: $15.90
List Price: $18.99
You Save: $3.09 (16% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  FKHG
Brand New
2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Finnadar 9014 (1976)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 80077 (1983)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Stand-out songs on this two CD set include "Feel It All Over, "Push," and "Mauve Over Blues." Tony Levin (King Crimson) backs Mann on bass on "Gagaku."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Shomyo (Monk's Chant)
  • 2.Mauve Over Blues
  • 3.Kurodabushi (Sake Drinking Song)
  • 4.Etenraku (Traditional)
  • 5.Gagaku And Beyond

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Astral Island
  • 2.Nueba
  • 3.More You (Piu Su)
  • 4.Gold Rush
  • 5.Push
  • 6.Theme From "Tootsie" (An Actor's Life)
  • 7.Capim
  • 8.Feel It All Over
  • 9.Jazz Dancing

Product Description:

Contains 2 LPs on 2 CDs: GAGAKU & BEYOND (1976)/ASTRAL ISLAND (1983).
Personnel includes: Herbie Mann (tenor saxophone, flute); Tom Malone (trombone); Pat Rebillot (keyboards); Kinny Landrum (synthesizer); Sam Brown, Lou Volpe (guitar); Frank Gravis (bass, bass synthesizer); Tony Levin (bass); Buddy Williams (drums,percussion); Steve Gadd (drums); Minoru Muraoku & His New Dimension.
Recorded at Mori Studio, Tokyo, Japan and Atlantic Studios, New York, New York. Originally released on Atlantic.
Personnel: Herbie Mann (flute, tenor saxophone); Sam T. Brown, Lou Volpe (guitar); Tom "Bones" Malone (trombone); Pat Rebillot (keyboards); Frank Gravis (bass synthesizer); Buddy Williams (drums, percussion); Steve Gadd (drums).
Audio Remixer: Lewis Hahn.
Liner Note Author: Arthur Levy .
Recording information: Atlantic Studios, N.Y.C; Mori Studio, Tokyo, Japan.
Unknown Contributor Role: Ted Takashi Ono.
This two-disc set from Collectables features a pair of out of print Herbie Mann LPs: Gagaku and Beyond and Astral Island, originally issued in 1976 and 1983, respectively. These 14 smooth jazz/pop tracks include "Mauve Over Blues," "Jazz Dancing," and "Theme from Tootsie (An Actor's Life)." Most listeners would be better served with one of Mann's compilations on Rhino/Atlantic. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,294
  • UPC: 090431688120
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)