Percy Mayfield 1951-1954

Get email alerts for Percy Mayfield
Price: $21.40
List Price: $22.98
You Save: $1.58 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
18 copies available
Format:  CD
item number:  37K9H
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: July 14, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2017
  • Label: Classics R&B


  • 1.How Deep Is the Well
  • 2.Ruthie Mae
  • 3.The Hunt Is On
  • 4.The Big Question
  • 5.My Heart
  • 6.The River's Invitation
  • 7.Louisiana
  • 8.Lonesome Highway
  • 9.Wasted Dream
  • 10.The Lonely One
  • 11.Bachelor Blues
  • 12.I Ain't Gonna Cry No More
  • 13.You Are My Future
  • 14.Memory Pain
  • 15.Memory Pain
  • 16.Get Way Back
  • 17.Kiss Tomorrow Goodbye
  • 18.Advice
  • 19.I Need Love So Bad
  • 20.Loose Lips
  • 21.Does Anyone Care for Me
  • 22.Sugar Mama, Peachy Papa
  • 23.You Don't Exist No More
  • 24.It's Good to See You Baby
  • 25.Nightmare

Product Description:

Personnel: Percy Mayfield (vocals); Joy Hamilton (vocals); Ulysses Livingston, Charles Norris, Mitchell "Tiny" Webb, William Harvey Pyles, Herman Mitchell, Harold Grant (guitar); John Crawford (saxophone); Jewell L. Grant (alto saxophone); William B. Woodman, Jr., James "Ham" Jackson, Earl Sumner Jackson, Hubert Myers, Maxwell Street Jimmy Davis (tenor saxophone); Floyd Turnham, Maurice Simon (baritone saxophone); Fletcher Smith, Gerald Wiggins , Willard McDaniel (piano); Robert Pittman, Lee Young, Jesse Sailes (drums).
Liner Note Author: Dave Penny.
Recording information: Los Angeles, CA (07/07/1951-03/23/1954).
Author: Percy Mayfield.
Percy Mayfield's songs are full of deep, fathomless fears and a kind of ominous, desperate loneliness that made him the master of the desolate ballad, and even his rare uptempo tracks have a sort of intangible pathos at the center (his best-known song, "Hit the Road Jack," is a perfect example). This second installment in Classic Records' chronological survey of his earliest work concentrates on Mayfield's Specialty Records output between 1951 and 1954, just prior to his departure for Chess Records in 1955. These songs are best appreciated in small doses, since on the surface at least they're all of a type, generally slow-burning tales that reflect the fear of rejection and abandonment. What redeems them is Mayfield's subtle touch as a songwriter, which gives the best of these laments a deep emotional realness that lifts them out of clich‚ territory, and his plain, unadorned, and deceptively laconic singing style that makes him his own best interpreter, even though many other artists have covered his songs (including the great Ray Charles). Among the standouts here are the exhausted-sounding "How Deep Is the Well," the ominous "The River's Invitation," and the stark, emotionally spent "You Don't Exist No More." There are a couple of upbeat numbers as well, like the crisp, jaunty "Louisiana" and the goofy (at least by Mayfield standards) "Loose Lips." Although he seems to have constantly recycled the same dark, fearful mood in his material, Mayfield never resorted to easy triteness in his lyrics, and as a result, there is really nobody quite like him in either the blues or R&B genres. ~ Steve Leggett

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • UPC: 3448967515026
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Thanksgiving Day: Closed
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)