COVID-19: We are currently operating in a limited manner. Due to social-distancing practices and increased order volume, please expect longer than usual wait times & shipping delays.

Glenn Frey Above the Clouds: The Collection [Box Set] (3-CD + DVD)

Get email alerts for Glenn Frey
List Price: $49.98
You Save: $6.08 (12% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 7 copies left
Format:  CD  (4 Discs)
sku:  6H9Y2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 4
  • Released: May 11, 2018
  • Originally Released: 2018
  • Label: Geffen Records

Description by

Celebrate the very best of Glenn Frey's solo career with a stunning four-disc 3 CD/DVD box set, Above The Clouds: The Collection. Above the Clouds compiles the key elements of Frey's music both before and after the Eagles became international superstars, showcasing the broad range and wide influence of the Detroit-bred singer-songwriter in the process.

The first disc, aptly subtitled The Very Best of Glenn Frey, is chock-full of major chart hits, including the Beverly Hills Copsmash "The Heat Is On," the gritty, slide-guitar-driven gutbucket groove of "Smuggler's Blues," the epic Miami Viceballad "You Belong to the City," the inward-looking poignancy of "Soul Searchin'," and much more. This disc will be available as a stand-alone disc as well as part of the box set. And while Glenn clearly embraced the burgeoning video age, nabbing a vaunted 1985 MTV Music Video Award with the cinematically dramatic clip for "Smuggler's Blues," it's the enduring essence of the man's songwriting skills on display here that truly sealed his legacy as a solo artist.
The third disc highlights the early output of the duo formed by longtime friends Frey and JD Souther known as Longbranch/Pennywhistle makes its digital debut. Originally released on the Amos label in 1969, the self-titled Longbranch/Pennywhistle may have ultimately been consigned to the side bins of the acid-rock era, but songs like "Kite Woman" and "Run, Boy, Run" serve as the literal seeds of the country-rock movement Frey and the Eagles perfected to a T. Besides navigating the success of his own fine solo career (see "You’re Only Lonely"), Souther also went on to be a chief Frey collaborator on such pivotal Eagles songs as "Best of My Love," "New Kid in Town," and "Heartache Tonight."

The final disc, a live DVD culled from a telling performance at the National Stadium in Dublin, Ireland, on September 15, 1992, on the Strange Weather tour, shows Frey and his top-shelf band at the height of their powers, veering from the cool-breeze manifestos of "Long Hot Summer" and "Peaceful Easy Feeling" to the rip-roaring crackle of "Strange Weather" to the everyone-join-in vibes of "Party Town."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.The Heat Is On
  • 2.Call on Me (Theme From South of Sunset)
  • 3.Part of Me, Part of You
  • 4.You Belong to the City
  • 5.Smuggler's Blues
  • 6.Sexy Girl
  • 7.The Allnighter
  • 8.Soul Searchin'
  • 9.Same Girl
  • 10.The One You Love
  • 11.Strange Weather
  • 12.I've Got Mine
  • 13.River of Dreams
  • 14.Love in the 21st Century
  • 15.Lyin' Eyes / Take It Easy [ Live at the Stadium, Dublin, Ireland]

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Lets Go Home
  • 2.I Got Love
  • 3.The Way to Happiness
  • 4.Common Ground
  • 5.After Hours
  • 6.Rising Sun [Instrumental]
  • 7.The Shadow of Your Smile
  • 8.Better in the U.S.A
  • 9.Brave New World
  • 10.Caroline, No
  • 11.For Sentimental Reasons
  • 12.It's Too Soon to Know
  • 13.Worried Mind
  • 14.Lovers Moon
  • 15.Route 66
  • 16.True Love

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Jubilee Anne
  • 2.Run, Boy, Run
  • 3.Rebecca
  • 4.Lucky Love
  • 5.Kite Woman
  • 6.Bring Back Funky Women
  • 7.Star-Spangled Bus
  • 8.Mister, Mister
  • 9.Don't Talk Now
  • 10.Never Have Enough

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Long Hot Summer
  • 2.Peaceful Easy Feeling
  • 3.New Kid in Town
  • 4.The One You Love
  • 5.Strange Weather
  • 6.I've Got Mine
  • 7.Medley: Lyin' Eyes / Take It Easy
  • 8.Wild Mountain Theme
  • 9.River of Dreams
  • 10.True Love
  • 11.Love in the 21st Century
  • 12.Livin' Right
  • 13.Smuggler's Blues
  • 14.The Heat Is On
  • 15.Heartache Tonight
  • 16.Party Town
  • 17.Desperado

Product Description:

Liner Note Author: Ian McCann.
Recording information: The National Stadium, Dublin, Ireland (09/15/1992); TTG Studios (09/15/1992).

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 45,531
  • UPC: 602567007180
  • Shipping Weight: 0.40/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 4 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)