Les Paul Columbia Singles Collection

Get email alerts for Les Paul
4 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 9 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6863
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Les Paul and Mary Ford joined forces both personally and professionally in 1949. But before they became one of the most popular and influential duos of all time, Les Paul had played with some of the best musicians of the day (Art Tatum, Earl Hines, Nat King Cole), while Mary Ford had been a back-up singer for Country-Western star Gene Autry. This CD presents their late fifties and early sixties work for the Columbia Records label and features tunes such as "Goodnight Irene," "Put A Ring On My Finger" and "Jealous Heart".


  • 1.Fantasy
  • 2.Put A Ring On My Finger
  • 3.Jealous Heart
  • 4.Big Eyed Gal
  • 5.At The Sav-A-Penny Super Store
  • 6.All I Need Is You
  • 7.The Poor People Of Paris
  • 8.All Night Long
  • 9.Wonderful Rain
  • 10.Take A Warning
  • 11.Jura (I Swear I Love You)
  • 12.Mountain Railroad
  • 13.It's Too Late
  • 14.Goodnight Irene
  • 15.Lonely Guitar
  • 16.Another Town, Another Time
  • 17.Memories
  • 18.Playing Make Believe
  • 19.Gentle Is Your Love
  • 20.Move Along Baby (Don't Waste My Time)
  • 21.The Christmas Song

Product Description:

Recorded between 1958 & 1963.
Liner Note Author: Al Fichera.
Recording information: 07/13/1958-03/15/1962.
Arranger: Les Paul.
This 21-track collection on Collectables contains every single Les Paul & Mary Ford cut for the Columbia label between 1958 and 1962. While it's true that the years on Capitol are their best known, these singles are sure to please any fan. Whether it's a folk song such as Leadbelly's "Goodnight Irene," a rollicking R&B number like Chuck Willis' "It's Too Late," or a stylish original such as "Take a Warning," the shined-up pop sound and blazing guitar wizardry of Paul and Ford continue to be in plentiful supply on these sides. The sound is acceptable and the price is decent, if not bargain basement. This serves as a great bookend to the Capitol sides and should be considered as such -- not a proper introduction to their best work. ~ Thom Jurek
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 3,471
  • UPC: 090431686324
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)