Carmen McRae Sound of Silence / Portrait of Carmen

Get email alerts for Carmen McRae
8 ratings
SALE: $11.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $2.99 (20% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 6 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6835
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: July 5, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 8200 (1968)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 8165 (1968)

Description by

Carmen McRae's dynamic artistry is revealed on these original Atlantic albums produced by Nesuhi Ertegun. Ms. McRae tackles contemporary songs of the day as well as standards "The Sounds of Silence," "Elusive Butterfly," and "I Got It Bad and That Ain't Good." Shorty Rogers arranged and conducted most of the tracks on these two classic Carmen McRae albums.


  • 1.The Sounds Of Silence
  • 2.I Got It Bad And That Ain't Good
  • 3.Macarthur Park
  • 4.Watch What Happens
  • 5.Stardust
  • 6.Don't Go Away
  • 7.Gloomy Sunday
  • 8.I Sold My Heart To The Junkman
  • 9.Poor Butterfly
  • 10.My Heart Reminds Me
  • 11.The Folks Who Live On The Hill
  • 12.Can You Tell
  • 13.I'm Always Drunk In San Francisco
  • 14.Elusive Butterfly
  • 15.Day By Day
  • 16.When You Get Around To Me
  • 17.Walking Happy
  • 18.My Very Own Person
  • 19.Ask Any Woman
  • 20.Boy, Do I Have A Surprise For You
  • 21.Loads Of Love
  • 22.I Haven't Got Anything Better To Do
  • 23.Wonder Why

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Carmen McRae (vocals): Shorty Rogers, Jimmy Jones, Benny Carter, Gene Di Novi, Oliver Nelson (arranger, conductor).
Originally released on Atlantic (8200) & Atlantic (8165). Includes liner notes by Gene Lees.
Personnel: Carmen McRae (vocals).
Liner Note Authors: Jack O'Brien ; Burt Korall; Leonard Feather.
Arrangers: Jerry Schatzberg; Gene DiNovi; Jimmy Jones ; Oliver Nelson ; Shorty Rogers; Benny Carter .
In , 2001 released Sound of Silence/Portrait of Carmen, which contained two albums -- Sound of Silence (, originally released 1968) and Portrait of Carmen (, originally released 1967) -- by Collectables on one compact disc. ~ Chris True
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,900
  • UPC: 090431683521
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)