Herbie Mann Turtle Bay / Discotheque (2-CD)

Turtle Bay / Discotheque (2-CD)
Get email alerts for Herbie Mann
5 ratings
Sale: $11.03
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $7.04 (41% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
13 copies available
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  COL 6824
Brand New
2 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1642 (1973)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1670 (1975)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Highlights include Mann's takes on the pop hits "Lady Marmalade," Sly Stone's "Family Affair," and Steely Dan's "Do It Again." "Discotheque" also features Cissy Houston on background vocals. This is the first time that these original Atlantic albums are available on compact disc.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Family Affair
  • 2.Never Ending Song Of Love
  • 3.Rainy Night In Georgia
  • 4.(Just An Old) Balalaika Love Song
  • 5.Reverend Lee
  • 6.Turtle Bay
  • 7.In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed
  • 8.A Theme From "Cries And Whispers"
  • 9.Do It Again
  • 10.Now I've Found A Lady
  • 11.Happier Then The Morning Sun

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Hi-Jack
  • 2.Pick Up The Pieces
  • 3.Lady Marmalade
  • 4.Mediterranean
  • 5.I Can't Turn You Loose
  • 6.I Won't Last A Day Without You
  • 7.High Above The Andes
  • 8.Bird Of Beauty
  • 9.Guava Jelly

Product Description:

2 LPs on 2 CDs: TURTLE BAY (1973)/DISCOTHEQUE (1975).
Personnel includes: Herbie Mann (flute, alto flute); Pat Rebillot (piano, electric piano, organ); David Spinozza, Jerry Friedman, Hugh McCracken, Bob Mann (guitar); Tony Levin (bass); Jerry Jemmott, Willie Weeks (Fender bass); Reggie Ferguson, Charles Collins (drums); Ralph MacDonald, Armen Halburian, Ray Barretto, Ray Mantilla (percussion).
Producers: Arif Mardin, Joel Dorn, Herbie Mann.
Originally released on Atlantic (1642) & Atlantic (1670).
This two-disc set from Collectables features a pair of out of print Herbie Mann LPs: Turtle Bay and Discotheque, both originally issued on Atlantic in 1973 and 1975, respectively. Highlights among the 20 tracks include "Rainy Night in Georgia," "I Won't Last a Day Without You," and "Pick Up the Pieces," which are pleasant, but not essential. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 19,777
  • UPC: 090431682425
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)