Wilbur de Paris The Uproarious Twenties In Dixieland / Wilbur de Paris And His Rampart St. Ramblers / Wilbur de Paris And His New New Orleans Jazz (2-CD)

Get email alerts for Wilbur de Paris
3 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $16.97
You Save: $10.99 (65% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  COL 6816
Brand New
3 Original LPs On 2 CDs

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2002
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Clarion 614 (1964)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1208 (1956)
  • Original Album #3: Atlantic 1219 (1956)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Trombonist Wilbur de Paris kept the spirit of New Orleans music alive in the 1950s with the release of these recordings for Atlantic records. The players in de Paris' gifted band apply their unique approach of jazz improvisation to the classic Dixieland style of King Oliver. This two CD set includes three original albums, the highlights of which include "Mardi Gras Rag," "Flow Gently," and "Frankie & Johnny."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.That's A Plenty
  • 2.Frankie & Johnny
  • 3.Cielito Lindo
  • 4.Battle Hymn Of The Republic
  • 5.Running Wild
  • 6.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 7.Flow Gently Sweet Afton
  • 8.See See Rider
  • 9.Waiting For The Rober E. Lee
  • 10.Sensation
  • 11.Shreveport Stomp
  • 12.Tres Moutarde
  • 13.Hindustan
  • 14.When The Saints Go Marching In

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Madagascar
  • 2.March Of The Charcoal Grays
  • 3.Mardi Gras Rag
  • 4.Are You From Dixie?
  • 5.Hot Lips
  • 6.Yama Yama Man
  • 7.Flow Gently, Sweet Afton
  • 8.Milneberg Joys

Product Description:

Full title: The Uproarious Twenties In Dixieland/Wilbur De Paris & His Rampart St. Ramblers/Wilbur De Paris & His "New" New Orleans Jazz.
Personnel: Wilbur De Paris (trombone); Sidney De Paris (trumpet, tuba);
Doc Cheatham (trumpet); Omar Simeon (clarinet); Lee Blair (banjo); Sonny White (piano); Wendell Marshall (bass); George Foster (drums).
Recorded in New York, New York in 1955. Originally released on Clarion and
This two-CD set has three of Wilbur DeParis' albums reissued in full from the 1950s. Best is the set taken from the album Wilbur DeParis and His New New Orleans Jazz, for it finds the sextet (with trombonist DeParis, cornetist Sidney DeParis, and clarinetist Omer Simeon), particularly for one of the great versions of "Milenberg Joys" and such tunes as "Madagascar," "Mardi Gras Rag," and "Hot Lips." The other two albums, Uproarious Twenties in Dixieland and Wilbur DeParis' Rampart Street Ramblers, were really samplers of the group's recordings from 1952-1960, so it is a bit surprising that they were reissued in full in this two-fer. Still, if one could have one set of DeParis' Atlantic recordings of 1952-1960, this two-fer would be a perfect acquisition. This was a very spirited and fun band. ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 14,078
  • UPC: 090431681626
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)