Spirit Future Games / Spirit of '84

Get email alerts for Spirit
Price: $24
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 2 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  352V7
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 21, 2005
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Bgo - Beat Goes On

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.CB Talk - Spirit,
  • 2.Stars Are Love
  • 3.Kahauna Dream
  • 4.Buried in My Brain - Spirit, Fowley
  • 5.Bionic Unit - Spirit, Fowley
  • 6.All Along the Watchtower - Spirit, Dylan
  • 7.Would You Believe
  • 8.Jack Bond Speaks
  • 9.Star Trek Dreaming
  • 10.China Doll
  • 11.Gorn Attack
  • 12.Detroit City
  • 13.The Freakout Frog
  • 14.Romulan Experience - Spirit,
  • 15.The Monkey See Monkey Do
  • 16.Journey of Nomad
  • 17.Ending - Spirit,

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Black Satin Nights - Spirit, Ferguson
  • 2.Mr. Skin - Spirit, Ferguson
  • 3.Mechanical World - Spirit, Andes
  • 4.Pick It Up - Spirit, Ferguson
  • 5.All Over the World
  • 6.1984
  • 7.Uncle Jack - Spirit, Ferguson
  • 8.Nature's Way
  • 9.Fresh Garbage - Spirit, Ferguson, Jay [1]
  • 10.I Got a Line on You

Product Description:

2 LP's on 1 CD: FUTURE GAMES (1977)/SPIRIT OF '84 (1984).
Personnel: Jay Ferguson, Matt Andes, Randy California, Bob Welch (vocals, guitar); Mark Andes (vocals, bass guitar); Curly Smith (vocals, drums, percussion); Alan Gratzer, Bruce Gary (vocals, percussion); Gary Myrik, Howard Lesse, Jeff Baxter (guitar); Jerry Jumonville (saxophone); John Locke, Neal Doughty (keyboards); Ed Cassidy, Keith Knudson (drums, percussion); Joe Lala, Bobby LaKind (percussion); Terry Anderson (background vocals).
Audio Mixers: David DeVore; Jay Ferguson; Michael Verdick; Mike Nocito; Randy California.
Audio Remasterer: Andrew Thompson .
Liner Note Author: Alan Robinson .
Recording information: A&M Records "Charlie Chaplin" Soundstage, Hollywood, CA; Studios 70, Tampa, FL; Yamaha R&D Studios, Glendale, CA.
Author: Doctor Sardonicus.
Photographer: Tony d'Orio.
This two-disc reissue from BGO combines two of Spirit's more self-indulgent and quirky releases: 1977's Future Games and 1984's aptly titled The Spirit of '84. With Future Games, Randy California let his imagination run wild on this 22-song cycle, with erratic results. While the sound effects and production are a nice touch, the songs meander from one to another without a sense of full development. On top of that, the combination of science fiction, Hawaii, and numerous Star Trek references meshes about as well as carpenter's nails and frogs on a slice of pizza. Translation: it just doesn't. On the flip side, The Spirit of '84 does much better at redeeming California, but this is one of the more misleading releases in the catalog. Essentially a reunion album with Spirit's founding members, over half the songs are re-recordings of their back catalog's finest moments. And while the performances are noteworthy, the updated synth sounds and production values make them inferior to the originals. It's not the best work in the Spirit catalog, but far from the worst, either. ~ Rob Theakston

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 63,090
  • UPC: 5017261206572
  • Shipping Weight: 0.27/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)