The Jazz Modes Plays Excerpts From The Frank Loesser Musical "The Most Happy Fella"

Get email alerts for The Jazz Modes
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $8.99 (69% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6761
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: September 5, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2006
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 1280 (1958)

Description by

Originally released on the Atlantic label in 1958, personnel on this recording includes Julius Watkins on french horn, Charles Rouse on tenor sax, Gildo Mahones on piano, Martin Rivera on bass and Ron Jefferson on drums.


  • 1.Standing On The Corner
  • 2.Joey, Joey, Joey
  • 3.Warm All Over
  • 4.Happy To Make Your Acquaintance
  • 5.My Heart Is So Full Of You
  • 6.The Most Happy Fella
  • 7.Don't Cry
  • 8.Like A Woman
  • 9.Somebody Somewhere

Product Description:

The Jazz Modes: Eileen Gilbert (vocals); Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Julius Watkins (French horn); Gildo Mahones (piano); Martin Rivera (bass); Ron Jefferson (drums).
Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun.
Reissue producers: Donald Elfman, Naomi Yoshii.
Recorded in New York, New York on November 7 & 11, 1957. Originally released on Atlantic (1280). Includes liner notes by Gary Kramer.
Digitally remastered by Gene Paul (DB Plus, New York, New York).
Les Jazz Modes: Charlie Rouse (tenor saxophone); Julius Watkins (French horn); Gildo Mahones (piano).
Originally released on Atlantic in 1957, the short-lived bop quintet les Jazz Modes performed excerpts from Frank Loesser's third Broadway musical The Most Happy Fella. This tasteful date features Julius Watkins on French horn (and pre-Thelonious Monk) and tenor saxophonist Charlie Rouse, accompanied by pianist Gildo Mahones, bassist, Martin Rivera, drummer Ron Jefferson, and, for this date only, vocalist Eileen Gilbert was added on "My Heart Is So Full of You." Highlights from the nine excerpts of the play include the breezy up-tempo treatments of "Standing on the Corner," "Joey, Joey, Joey," and the contemplative melancholia of "Somebody Somewhere." While it didn't match the huge success of such similarly attempted jazzed-up Broadway hits like Shelly Manne's My Fair Lady or the Miles Davis and Gil Evans collaboration on Porgy and Bess, the complex synchronization of Watkins' fluid mellow tone with the moderately choppy tenor lines of Rouse make for a lyrical bop/cool jazz hybrid that still sounds fresh on this 2006 Koch reissue. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,072
  • UPC: 090431676127
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)