The Rolling Stones Rock and Roll Circus (2-CD)

Entertainment Weekly: "...The just-clowning-around vibe gives the proceedings an unpretentious feel that nicely evokes the era's spirit. Upped a notch for historical resonance." - Rating: A-
Get email alerts for The Rolling Stones
Price: $24.90
Special Order Item: Usually ships in 7-14 days
Only 3 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
item number:  6V6QJ
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: June 7, 2019
  • Originally Released: 1996
  • Label: ABKCO

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 10/25/96, p.116
"...The just-clowning-around vibe gives the proceedings an unpretentious feel that nicely evokes the era's spirit. Upped a notch for historical resonance." - Rating: A-

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Mick Jagger's Introduction of Rock and Roll Circus - (remix)
  • 2.Entry of the Gladiators - (remix)
  • 3.Mick Jagger's Introduction of Jethro Tull - (remix)
  • 4.Song for Jeffrey - (remix)
  • 5.Keith Richards' Introduction of the Who - (remix)
  • 6.Quick One While He's Away, A - (remix)
  • 7.Over the Waves - (remix)
  • 8.Ain't That a Lot of Love - (remix)
  • 9.Charlie Watts' Introduction of Marianne Faithfull - (remix)
  • 10.Something Better - (remix)
  • 11.Mick Jagger's and John Lennon's Introduction of the Dirty Mac - (remix)
  • 12.Yer Blues - (remix)
  • 13.Whole Lotta Yoko - (remix)
  • 14.John Lennon's Introduction of the Rolling Stones - Jumpin' Jack Flash (remix)
  • 15.Parachute Woman - (remix)
  • 16.No Expectations - (remix)
  • 17.You Can't Always Get What You Want - (remix)
  • 18.Sympathy For the Devil - (remix)
  • 19.Salt of the Earth - (remix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Checkin' Up on My Baby
  • 2.Leaving Trunk
  • 3.Corinna
  • 4.Revolution (Rehearsal)
  • 5.Warmup Jam
  • 6.Yer Blues [Take 2] - (take)
  • 7.Brian Jones' Introduction of Julius Katchen
  • 8.De Falla: Ritual Fire Dance
  • 9.Mozart: Sonata In C Major - 1st Movement

Product Description:

The Rolling Stones: Mick Jagger (vocals); Keith Richards (acoustic & electric guitars, background vocals); Brian Jones (electric & slide guitars); Bill Wyman (bass); Charlie Watts (drums).
The Dirty Mac: John Lennon (vocals, guitar); Eric Clapton (guitar); Keith Richards (bass); Mitch Mitchell (drums).
Additional performers: Jethro Tull, The Who, Taj Mahal, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono, Ivry Gitlis, Nicky Hopkins.
Producers: Jimmy Miller, Jody Klein, Lenne Allik.
Recorded live in England on December 10-11, 1968.
Includes liner notes by David Dalton.
Personnel: Pete Townshend (vocals, guitar, guitars); John Lennon (vocals, guitars); Ian Anderson (vocals, flute); Mick Jagger, Taj Mahal (vocals, harmonica); John Entwistle, Roger Daltrey, Marianne Faithfull, Yoko Ono (vocals); Jesse Ed Davis , Mick Abrahams (guitar, guitars); Keith Richards (guitars, acoustic guitar); Brian Jones (guitars, slide guitar); Eric Clapton (guitars); Ivry Gitlis (violin); Glenn Cornick (harmonica); Nicky Hopkins (keyboards); Clive Bunker, Keith Moon , Mitch Mitchell, Chuck Blackwell , Charlie Watts (drums); Rocky Dijon (percussion).
Liner Note Author: David Dalton.
Recording information: Ibc Sound Recording Studios Mobile Unit (12/10/1968/12/11/1968); Intertel (V.T.R. Services) Studio in Wembley, London (12/10/1968/12/11/1968).
Director: Michael Lindsay-Hogg.
Editors: Ruth Foster; Robin Klein.
Photographer: Anthony B. Richmond.
THE ROLLING STONES ROCK AND ROLL CIRCUS documents a December 1968 show, originally intended for broadcast on British television, that featured clowns, acrobats, tigers, a fire-eater, the Rolling Stones and a menagerie of musician friends that included the Who, Eric Clapton, John Lennon and Yoko Ono. The show never aired. The Stones, unhappy with their performance, shelved it. A clip of the Who performing "A Quick One While He's Away" made it into the documentary "The Kids Are Alright," but the rest of the show remained on the shelf until the 1996 release of a laser disc, video, and this soundtrack.
The Stones put together this circus shortly after releasing BEGGAR'S BANQUET. Ringmaster/producer Mick Jagger recruited the above friends along with Marianne Faithfull, Taj Mahal and the relatively-unknown Jethro Tull. Twenty hours of filming resulted in a production that alternates between vaudevillian spectacle and magical rock and roll performances. Especially noteworthy is a blistering version of the Beatles' "Yer Blues" by the Dirty Mac, a supergroup featuring John Lennon on rhythm guitar and vocals, Eric Clapton on lead, Keith Richards on bass and Mitch Mitchell on drums.
The Stones went on at 1 in the morning on December 11, performing a set that included several songs from BEGGAR'S BANQUET and the not-yet-released "You Can't Always Get What You Want," sometimes playing a song two or three times to get it right for TV. Despite the numerous takes and the late hour, the Stones' intensity never flagged. This is, despite what they thought, a great performance. It builds up to a hypnotic "Sympathy For The Devil" and a rousing sing-along version of "Salt Of The Earth" that ends the circus.
ABKCO Music & Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 33,397
  • UPC: 018771855422
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)