Duke Ellington Ellington '65

Get email alerts for Duke Ellington
Price: $14
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $0.98 (7% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-4 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  EEE2
Brand New

CD Details

  • Liner Notes: Leonard Feather (From the original)
  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Reprise 6122 (1965)

Description by OLDIES.com:

A CD reissue of Duke Ellington's classic 1965 album, "Ellington '65." On it, popular hits of the day get the Ellington/Strayhorn treatment.


  • 1.Hello, Dolly!
  • 2.Call Me Irresponsible
  • 3.Fly Me To The Moon (In Other Words)
  • 4.The Peking Theme (So Little Time)
  • 5.Danke Schoen
  • 6.More (Theme From "Mondo Case")
  • 7.The Second Time Around
  • 8.Never On Sundy
  • 9.I Left My Heart In San Francisco
  • 10.Blowin' In The Wind
  • 11.Stranger On The Shore

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Duke Ellington; Russell Procope (clarinet, alto saxophone, trombone); Herbie Jones (trumpet); Lawrence Brown (trombone); Major Holley (double bass); Jimmy Hamilton (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Johnny Hodges (alto saxophone); Paul Gonsalves (tenor saxophone); Harry Carney (baritone saxophone); Cootie Williams, Rolf Ericson, Cat Anderson (trumpet); Chuck Connors, Buster Cooper (trombone); Sam Woodyard (drums).
Liner Note Author: Leonard Feather.
Recording information: 04/15/1964-04/27/1964.
Arranger: Billy Strayhorn.
The Duke Ellington orchestra is captured here at its mature best in this mid-1960s collection of artfully rearranged hits of the day. Ellington's arrangements blend populist sensibilities with artistic integrity, energizing standards like "Danke Schoen" and "Hello, Dolly" (which had been a hit for Louis Armstrong in 1964) with fresh musical ideas. A nicely balanced blend of uptempo swing and sophisticated after-hours blues, ELLINGTON '65 demonstrates seasoned players like Russell Procope, Johnny Hodges, and Laurence Brown at the top of their game.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 18,391
  • UPC: 090431672822
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)