Ben Webster The Warm Moods

Get email alerts for Ben Webster
7 ratings
SALE: $10.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $1.99 (15% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6718
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Reprise 2001 (1961)

Description by

A reissue of veteran tenor player Ben Webster's 1961 album, "The Warm Moods." On it, he is backed by Donn Trenner on piano, Don Bagley on bass, Frank Capp on drums, and a string quartet under the direction of Johnny Richards.


  • 1.The Sweetheart Of Sigma Chi
  • 2.Stella By Starlight
  • 3.With Every Breath I Take
  • 4.Accent On Youth
  • 5.But Beautiful
  • 6.Time After Time
  • 7.Nancy
  • 8.I'm Beginning To See The Light
  • 9.It Was So Beautiful
  • 10.The Whiffenpoof Song
  • 11.It's Easy To Remember
  • 12.There's No You

Product Description:

Personnel: Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Johnny Richards (conductor); Alfred Lustgarten, Lisa Minghetti (violin); Cecil Figelski (viola); Armond Kaproff (cello); Donn Trenner (piano); Don Bagley (bass); Frank Capp (drums).
Recorded in 1960. Includes original liner notes by Nat Hentoff.
Personnel: Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Alfred Lustgarten, Lisa Minghetti (violin); Cecil Figelski (viola); Armand Karpoff (cello); Donn Trenner (piano); Frank Capp (drums).
Arranger: Johnny Richards .
When it came to ballads, Ben Webster was one of the most eloquent. His warm, airy (yet thick) tone contrasted with the aggressive, biting tone he used on faster material. On THE WARM MOODS, we hear the strength of Webster's musical insight, and in particular, the superb sense of melodicism that he possessed.
Teamed up with a string quartet (arranged by Johnny Richards) and a rhythm section (Donn Trenner on piano, Don Bagley on bass, and Frank Capp on drums), the tenor veteran succeeds in rendering truly gorgeous versions of often overlooked standards such as "The Sweetheart of Sigma Chi," "I'm Beginning to See the Light," and "It's Easy to Remember." A soft, lush, hopelessly romantic album, THE WARM MOODS seduces the ear with every note. The highlight of the session is probably "But Beautiful," not only because of the strength of the song itself, but because of the interplay between the solo violin and Webster's succulent tenor saxophone.
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 20,260
  • UPC: 090431671825
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)