Les Brown Bandland / Revolution In Sound

Get email alerts for Les Brown
6 ratings
Price: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6668
Brand New
Products with a similar style:
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

Les Brown was the leader of one of the most popular jazz-oriented dance bands. These two albums were originally recorded for Columbia in the early '60s; on them Brown and his Band of Renown pay tribute to some of America's most popular big bands and their biggest hits. Highlights include "Night in Tunisia," "This Could Be The Start of Something Big," and "One O'Clock Jump."


  • 1.Undecided
  • 2.It's A Wonderful World
  • 3.Begin The Beguine
  • 4.Night In Tunisia
  • 5.So Rare
  • 6.Woodchopper's Ball
  • 7.Caravan
  • 8.A String Of Pearls
  • 9.April In Paris
  • 10.And The Angels Sing
  • 11.Marie
  • 12.Got A Date With An Angel
  • 13.This Could Be The Start Of Something
  • 14.Patricia
  • 15.The Man With The Golden Arm
  • 16.Unchained Melody
  • 17.Stompin' At The Savoy
  • 18.Lisbon Antigua
  • 19.Peter Gunn
  • 20.One O'Clock Jump
  • 21.Man With A Horn
  • 22.Calcutta
  • 23.Music Makers
  • 24.The Song From Moulin Rouge
  • 25.Tea For Two Cha Cha
  • 26.Little Brown Jug

Product Description:

2 LPs on 1 CD: BANDLAND (1960)/REVOLUTION IN SOUND (1962).
Originally released on Columbia (8288) & Columbia (8618).
Personnel: Herb Ellis, Howard Roberts , Tony Rizzi (guitar); Gerald Vinci, Mischa Russell, John DeVoogdt, Darrel Terwilliger, James Getzoff, Felix Slatkin, Jacques Gasselin, Lou Klass, Amerigo Marino (violin); Alexander Neiman, Stanley Harris (viola); Eleanor Slatkin (cello); Fred Haller (flute, alto saxophone); Ralph LaPolla, Al Aarons (saxophone); Abe Aaron (soprano saxophone, tenor saxophone); Frank Perry (alto saxophone); Billy Usselton (tenor saxophone); Butch Stone (baritone saxophone); Uan Rasey, Dick Collins, Clinton McMahan, Mickey McMahon, Bill Mattson, Ray Linn, John Audino, Ollie Mitchell, Bobby Clark , Frank Huggins (trumpet); James Hill, J. Hill, Richard Kennedy , John Wanner, Clyde Brown , Roy Main (trombone); Stumpy Brown (bass trombone, tuba); Donn Trenner, Terry Trotter (piano); Bob Neel (drums); Leonardo Acosta (timbales); Gene Estes, Hubert Anderson, Frank Flynn (percussion).
Liner Note Authors: Edward Kleban; Irving Townsend.
This two-fer from Collectables features a pair of out-of-print Les Brown LPs: Bandland and Revolution in Sound. Each of the 24 tracks has a continuity dominated by Tin Pan Alley and jazz standards. Highlights include "Woodchopper's Ball," "Got a Date With an Angel," "One O'Clock Jump," "Little Brown Jug," and "And the Angels Sing." This is an enjoyable reissue from the massive Les Brown catalog on Columbia Records, but most listeners would be better served with one of the many compilations in print. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,039
  • UPC: 090431666821
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)