Spirit It Shall Be: The Ode & Epic Recordings 1968-1972 (5-CD)

Get email alerts for Spirit
Price: $56.80
List Price: $61.99
You Save: $5.19 (8% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Only 8 copies left
Format:  CD  (5 Discs)
item number:  6H47R
on most orders of $75+
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Released: March 16, 2018
  • Originally Released: 2018
  • Label: Imports

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Fresh Garbage
  • 2.Uncle Jack
  • 3.Mechanical World
  • 4.Taurus
  • 5.Girl in Your Eye
  • 6.Straight Arrow
  • 7.Topanga Windows
  • 8.Gramophone Man
  • 9.Water Woman
  • 10.The Great Canyon Fire in General
  • 11.Elijah
  • 12.I Got a Line on You (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 13.It Shall Be (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 14.Poor Richard (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 15.Silky Sam (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 16.The Drunkard (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 17.Darlin' If (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 18.All the Same (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 19.Jewish (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 20.Dream Within a Dream (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 21.She Smiled (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)
  • 22.Aren't You Glad (Original 1968 Stereo Mix)

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.The Moving Van
  • 2.Mellow Fellow
  • 3.Now or Anywhere
  • 4.Fog
  • 5.Green Gorilla
  • 6.Model Shop I
  • 7.Model Shop II (Clear)
  • 8.The Rehearsal Theme
  • 9.Song for Lola
  • 10.Eventide
  • 11.Coral
  • 12.Aren't You Glad (Demo)
  • 13.Dark Eyed Woman
  • 14.Apple Orchard
  • 15.So Little Time to Fly
  • 16.Ground Hog
  • 17.Cold Wind
  • 18.Policeman's Ball
  • 19.Ice
  • 20.Give a Life, Take a Life
  • 21.I'm Truckin'
  • 22.Clear
  • 23.Caught
  • 24.New Dope in Town

Tracks on Disc 3:

  • 1.Prelude - Nothing to Hide
  • 2.Nature's Way
  • 3.Animal Zoo
  • 4.Love Has Found a Way
  • 5.Why Can't I Be Free?
  • 6.Mr Skin
  • 7.Space Child
  • 8.When I Touch You
  • 9.Street Worm
  • 10.Life Has Just Begun
  • 11.Morning Will Come
  • 12.Soldier
  • 13.Rougher Road
  • 14.Chelsea Girls
  • 15.Cadillac Cowboys
  • 16.Puesta Del Scam
  • 17.Ripe and Ready
  • 18.Darkness
  • 19.Earth Shaker
  • 20.Mellow Morning
  • 21.Right on Time
  • 22.Trancas Fog-Out
  • 23.Witch

Tracks on Disc 4:

  • 1.Fresh Garbage (Mono Mix)
  • 2.Uncle Jack (Mono Mix)
  • 3.Mechanical World (Mono Mix)
  • 4.Taurus (Mono Mix)
  • 5.Girl in Your Eye (Mono Mix)
  • 6.Straight Arrow (Mono Mix)
  • 7.Topanga Windows (Mono Mix)
  • 8.Gramophone Man (Mono Mix)
  • 9.Water Woman (Mono Mix)
  • 10.The Great Canyon Fire in General (Mono Mix)
  • 11.Elijah (Mono Mix)
  • 12.Veruska
  • 13.Free Spirit
  • 14.If I Had a Woman
  • 15.Elijah (Alternate Take 2)
  • 16.I Got a Line on You ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 17.It Shall Be ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 18.Poor Richard ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 19.Silky Sam ("Time Circle" Mix)

Tracks on Disc 5:

  • 1.Scherozode ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 2.All the Same ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 3.A Dream Within a Dream ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 4.Aren't You Glad ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 5.Eventide ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 6.Model Shop Theme ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 7.Green Gorilla ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 8.Rehearsal Theme ("Time Circle" Mix)
  • 9.Fog
  • 10.So Little to Say
  • 11.Mellow Fellow
  • 12.Now or Anywhere
  • 13.Space Chile
  • 14.Fuller Brush Man
  • 15.Coral
  • 16.1984
  • 17.Sweet Stella Baby
  • 18.Animal Zoo (Mono Single Version)
  • 19.Red Light Roll on
  • 20.Morning Will Come (Mono Mix)

Product Description:

Audio Remasterer: Ben Wiseman .
Liner Note Author: Malcolm Dome.
Recording information: 1968; 1969; 1970.
In 2010, Sony presented Spirit's first five albums in a budget-priced box set. There wasn't anything extra, just five albums in a generic-looking slipcase. Great Britain's Esoteric Recordings felt the band deserved better. Spirit's first five albums are also included here with newly remastered sound -- alongside a slew of associated outtakes, singles, and alternate mixes offered in 1991 for Time Circle compilation. They also added the original mono mix of the band's self-titled 1968 debut album, and the group's soundtrack for French writer-director Jacques Demy's 1969 film Model Shop.
As most fans know, Spirit's meld of jazz, blues, psychedelia, and pop proved highly influential, but was never quite sustainable commercially. Despite smoking and commercially viable singles such as "Fresh Garbage," "I Got a Line on You," "Uncle Jack," and "Nature's Way," the band's wildly eclectic sound never really connected with the masses. Listening to the band's Ode debut is a case in point. The strange mix of genres, while seamless, was unsettling and more often than not, regarded as dark, mysterious, and brooding -- check "Mechanical World," "Fresh Garbage," and "Taurus." This was enhanced by their appearance in the fragmented cover photo with 17-year-old guitarist Randy California (who'd played with Jimi Hendrix at 16), his stepfather, jazz drummer Ed Cassidy (Roland Kirk, Art Pepper, New Jazz Trio) -- whose waxy-looking bald pate looked downright strange, even in 1967 -- keyboardist John Locke (New Jazz Trio), vocalist Jay Ferguson, and bassist Mark Andes. The released stereo version of the debut album with 1968's The Family That Plays Together -- that netted the hit "I Got a Line on You" -- reveals a tale of two bands: The former seeking to express all the core elements in their sound, and the latter from an outfit that has found a way to make them gel. Disc two opens with the Model Shop soundtrack cut in 1968, followed by the slightly schizophrenic but nonetheless rewarding Clear, which was, in retrospect, deeply influenced by the experience of the film score yet contains some of the band's finest accessible tracks in "Dark-Eyed Woman" "Give a Life, Take a Life, and "New Dope in Town." Disc three contains not only their most commercially successful album in The Twelve Dreams of Dr. Sardonicus, but all of its attendant sessions. Disc four offers the mono mixes of Spirit as well as four bonus cuts from those sessions and Time Circle mixes. The final platter contains eight more Time Circle mixes, assorted outtakes from The Family That Plays Together and Clear, both sides of the "1984" and "Animal Zoo" singles, and other assorted mixes. It's all held together in a handsome clamshell package with a booklet chock-full of photos, liner notes by Malcolm Dome, and archival interviews with California and Cassidy. Though Spirit continued recording and touring in one way or another until California's death in 1997, It Shall Be: The Ode & Epic Recordings is a definitive aural portrait from a band whose influence continues unabated into the 21st century. ~ Thom Jurek

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 110,030
  • UPC: 5013929471948
  • Shipping Weight: 0.38/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 5 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)