Soulero / Law's Cause

Get email alerts for Eddie Higgins
3 ratings
SALE: $8.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.99 (40% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6618
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1446 (1966)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1509 (1969)

Description by

Eddie Higgins is a musician's musician. A renowned bop pianist, he is well known for his intricate yet soulful explorations of standards such as "Love Letters," which appear on "Soulero," now available for the first time on CD. He's joined on this disc with an outing by Hubert Laws, the classically-trained flautist whose "Laws' Cause" was engineered by Phil Ramone and features such jazz all-stars as Ron Carter, Chick Corea, and Kenny Burrell.


  • 1.Tango Africaine
  • 2.Love Letters
  • 3.Shelley's World
  • 4.Soulero
  • 5.Mr. Evans
  • 6.Django
  • 7.Beautiful Dreamer
  • 8.Makin" Whoopee
  • 9.No More
  • 10.If You Knew
  • 11.A Day With You
  • 12.Please Let Go
  • 13.Shades Of Light
  • 14.Trio For Flute, Bassoon, And Piano
  • 15.Windows

Product Description:

2 LPs in 1 CD: Eddie Higgins Trio/SOULERO (1966)/Hubert Laws/LAW'S CAUSE (1969).
Eddie Higgins Trio: Eddie Higgins (piano); Richard Evans (bass); Marshall Thompson (drums).
Producers: Bill Traut, George Bodansky.
Recorded at Universal Recording Corporation, Chicago, Illinois. Originally released on Atlantic (1446).
Performers include: Hubert Laws (flute, piccolo); Melba Moore (vocals); Jimmy Owens (trumpet, flugelhorn); Karl Porter (bassoon); Sam Brown (sitar); Chick Corea (piano); Roland Hanna (harpsichord); Kenny Burrell (guitar); Ron Carter (bass); Chuck Rainey (Fender bass); Grady Tate (drums).
Producer: Joel Dorn.
Originally released on Atlantic (1509).
Personnel: Eddie Higgins (piano); Melba Moore (vocals); Eric Gale , Kenny Burrell (guitar); Hubert Laws (flute, piccolo); Karl Porter (bassoon); Jimmy Owens (trumpet, flugelhorn); Chick Corea (piano); Chuck Rainey (bass guitar); Grady Tate, Marshall Thompson (drums).
Liner Note Author: Mike James .
Recording information: Universal Recording Corporation, Chicago, IL.
Arrangers: Chick Corea; Eddie Higgins; Hubert Laws; John Murtaugh.
This two-fer from Collectables features a pair of out of print LPs by Eddie Higgins (Soulero) and Hubert Laws (Laws' Cause), both originally issued separately on Atlantic in 1965 and 1969, respectively. Highlights among the 15 tracks include "Soulero" and "Django" (Higgins) and "Trio for Flute, Bassoon and Piano" and "Windows" (Laws). These discs provide an interesting and entertaining combination of hard bop and crossover jazz. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Series:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 42,591
  • UPC: 090431661826
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)