Clarke-Boland Big Band / Western Suite

Clarke-Boland Big Band / Western Suite
Get email alerts for Clarke-Boland Big Band
WINTER SALE: $7.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $6.99 (47% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6611
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1404 (1962)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1330 (1958)

Description by

Bebop drummer Kenny Clarke and composer/pianist Francy Boland joined forces to create a sensation with the Clarke-Boland Big Band. Combining the finest European and American jazz talent, the Big Band album resulted in this exceptional 1962 release. Tenor sax and saxophonist Jimmy Guiffre is joined by Bob Brookmeyer and Jim Hall in this performance of his own composition, "Western Suite."


  • 1.Long Note Blues
  • 2.Get Out Of Town
  • 3.Sonor
  • 4.Speedy Reeds
  • 5.Old Stuff
  • 6.Om Mani Padme Hum
  • 7.Pony Express
  • 8.Apaches
  • 9.Saturday Night Dance
  • 10.Big Pow Wow
  • 11.Topsy
  • 12.Blue Monk

Product Description:

Full performer name: Clarke-Boland Big Band/Jimmy Giuffre.
2 LPs on 1 CD: Clarke-Boland Big Band/HANDLE WITH CARE (1962)/Jimmy Giuffre/WESTERN SUITE (1958).
Personnel: Francy Boland (arranger, piano); Kenny Clarke (drums).
Derek Humble (alto saxophone); Carl Drevo, Billy Mitchell, Ronnie Scott (tenor saxophone); Sahib Shihab (baritone saxophone, flute); Benny Bailey, Roger Guerin, Jimmy Deuchar, Ahmed Muvafflak, Idrees Sulieman, Edmund Arnie (trumpet); Ake Person, Nat Peck, Erich Kleinschuster, Raymond Katarsynski, Frederic "Keg" Johnson (trombone); Jimmy Woode (bass); Joe Harris (tympani);
Sadi (bongos).
Originally released on Atlantic (1404).
Personnel: Jimmy Giuffre (tenor saxophone, clarinet); Bob Brookmeyer
(trombone); Jim Hall (guitar).
Originally released on Atlantic (1330).
Personnel: Jim Hall (guitar); Sahib Shihab (flute, baritone saxophone); Jimmy Giuffre (clarinet, tenor saxophone, baritone saxophone); Derek Humble (alto saxophone); Carl Drevo (tenor saxophone); Idrees Sulieman, Edmond Arnie, Ahmed Muvaffak Falay, Jimmy Deuchar, Roger Guerin , Benny Bailey (trumpet); Nat Peck, Raymond Katarsynski, Ake Persson, Bob Brookmeyer, Erich Kleinschuster (trombone); Francy Boland (piano); Kenny Clarke (drums).
Arranger: Francy Boland.
These two very different jazz dates from the Atlantic vaults have been reissued by Collectables on a single disc. Both contain enjoyable late-'50s, early-'60s sessions led by Jimmy Giuffre and Francy Boland with Kenny Clarke. The Boland/Clarke album from 1962 contains six tracks of big band charts, four written by Boland and fueled throughout by the powerhouse drumming of Clarke, whose "Sonor" is a highlight. By comparison, the 1958 Giuffre trio date is sedate, with trombonist Bob Brookmeyer and guitarist Jim Hall on the Giuffre-penned "Western Suite" (in four movements!), "Topsy," and Thelonious Monk's "Blue Monk." While being a bit unclear as to the haphazard way these two sessions ended up reissued on the same disc, both albums stand on their own individual merits and are welcome reissues. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 59,542
  • UPC: 090431661123
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)