Junior Mance Harlem Lullaby / I Believe To My Soul

Get email alerts for Junior Mance
Price: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6606
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1479 (1967)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1496 (1968)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Jazz pianist Junior Mance was a genius at performing pop, jazz, and blues standards . On "Harlem Lullaby," he also proves to be a master of the harpsichord. This compact disc brings together the first two LPs Mance recorded for Atlantic and showcases Mance's piano playing in a variety of ways. Contributors on "I Believe" include David Newman, Hubert Laws and Freddie Waits.


  • 1.The Uptown
  • 2.That Mellow Feeling
  • 3.Cootin'
  • 4.I'm Falling For You
  • 5.St. James Infirmary
  • 6.Harlem Lullaby
  • 7.Run 'Em Round
  • 8.What Becomes Of Brokenhearted
  • 9.I Believe To My Soul
  • 10.A Time And A Place
  • 11.Sweet Georgia Brown
  • 12.Golden Spur
  • 13.Don't Worry 'Bout It
  • 14.Home On The Range
  • 15.Sweets For My Sweet
  • 16.My Romance

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Junior Mance (piano, harpsichord); Hubert Laws (tenor saxophone, flute, piccolo); David "Fathead" Newman (tenor saxophone); Bobby Capers (baritone saxophone); Joe Newman, Jimmy Owens (trumpet); Gene Taylor, Bob Cunnigham, Richard Davis (bass); Alan Dawson, Ray Lucas, Freddie Waits, Bobby Thompson (drums); Ray Barretto (congas).
Originally released on Atlantic (1479) & Atlantic (1496).
Personnel: Junior Mance (piano, harpsichord); Sylvia Shemwell (vocals); Hubert Laws (flute, piccolo, tenor saxophone); David "Fathead" Newman , Frank Wess (tenor saxophone); Haywood Henry, Bobby Capers (baritone saxophone); Jimmy Owens, Joe Newman , Mel Lastie (trumpet); James Tyrell (bass guitar); Alan Dawson , Ray Lucas (drums); Ray Barretto (congas).
Liner Note Author: Orrin Keepnews.
Recording information: 1966.
Director: Gene Orloff.
Illustrator: Bob Fuentes.
Arranger: Junior Mance.
Pianist Junior Mance originally released these albums in 1966 on the Atlantic label; they were then combined in 2000 for the first time on CD by the Collectables label. Harlem Lullaby is a haphazard recording with a revolving-door rhythm section that is marred by Mance's insistence to occasionally utilize a harpsichord instead of piano. By contrast, I Believe to My Soul is a horn-laden affair with Mance sticking to piano; appearances from David "Fathead" Newman, Frank Wess, and Joe Newman also help make this the better date of the two. Neither album is essential, but they will be of interest to collectors of mid-'60s mainstream soul jazz. ~ Al Campbell
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 6,618
  • UPC: 090431660621
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-9pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)