Wilbur de Paris Marchin' & Swingin' / At Symphony Hall

Get email alerts for Wilbur de Paris
5 ratings
SALE: $5.98
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $8.99 (60% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6600
Brand New
2 Original LPs on 1 CD

CD Details

  • Released: July 5, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album #1: Atlantic 1233 (1956)
  • Original Album #2: Atlantic 1253 (1957)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Trombone player Wilbur de Paris emerged from the Duke Ellington Big Band to establish his own unique niche in the world of jazz. There wasn't anything that de Paris couldn't play, and these two recordings together on one disc prove that. "Marchin' and Swingin'" is filled with De Paris marchin' and swingin' through some great tunes. "At Symphony Hall" captures de Paris in a wonderful live performance.

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Martinique
  • 2.Tres Moutarde
  • 3.Under The Double Eagle
  • 4.Shreveport Stomp
  • 5.When The Saints Go Marching In
  • 6.The Pearls
  • 7.Hindustan
  • 8.Prelude In C Sharp Minor
  • 9.Battle Hymn Of The Republic
  • 10.Marchin' And Swingin'

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.Introduction By Wilbur DeParis
  • 2.Majorca
  • 3.Juba Dance
  • 4.Toll Gate Blues
  • 5.Wrought Iron Rag
  • 6.Cielito Lindo
  • 7.Sister Kate
  • 8.Banjoker
  • 9.Piano Blues
  • 10.Farewell Blues

Product Description:

Originally released as 2 separate LPs: MARCHIN' AND SWINGIN' (1956)/AT SYMPHONY HALL (1957).
Includes liner notes by Marshall W. Stearns, John S. Wilson and Wilbur De Paris.
Personnel: Wilbur De Paris (vocals, trombone); Sidney De Paris (vocals, cornet); Omer Simeon (vocals, clarinet); Don Kirkpatrick (vocals, piano); Eddie Gibbs (vocals, piano); Harold Jackson (vocals, bass); Freddie Moore (vocals, drums).
Producers: Herb Abramson, Ahmet Ertegun.
Engineer: Emory Cook.
Recorded in New York, New York in September 1952. Originally released on Atlantic (1233).
Personnel: Wilbur De Paris (trombone, valve trombone); Sidney De Paris (cornet); Omer Simeon (clarinet); Wilbert Kirk (harmonica, drums); Sonny White (piano); Lee Blair (banjo); Bennie Moten (bass).
Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun.
Engineer: Tom Dowd.
Recorded live at Symphony Hall, Boston, Massachusetts on October 26, 1956. Originally released on Atlantic (1253).
Personnel: Wilbur De Paris (trombone); Sidney DeParis (vocals, cornet); Lee Blair, Eddie Gibbs (banjo); Wilbert Kirk (harmonica, drums); Omer Simeon (clarinet); Don Kirkpatrick, Sonny White (piano); Freddie Moore (drums).
Liner Note Authors: John Wilson ; Marshall Stearns; Wilbur De Paris.
Recording information: New York, NY (09/??/1952/10/26/1952); Symphony Hall, Boston, MA (09/??/1952/10/26/1952).
Arrangers: Omer Simeon; Wilbur De Paris.
In the 1950s, trombonist Wilbur DeParis & His New New Orleans Jazz Band played an intriguing mixture of Dixieland standards, obscurities, originals, and offbeat pieces in spirited fashion. With cornetist Sidney DeParis (Wilbur's brother) and former Jelly Roll Morton pianist Omer Simeon in the front line, this was one of the most exciting trad bands of the era. This two-CD set brings back a pair of DeParis' Atlantic albums (none of which have been reissued by Atlantic): Marchin' and Swingin' (the first recording by the group) and DeParis' At Symphony Hall concert of 1956. The former set is particularly rewarding, with memorable versions of "Martinique," "Under the Double Eagle," "Shreveport Stomp," "Hindustan," and a version of "The Saints" that (in its second half) is taken at a blistering tempo. The At Symphony Hall recording has five DeParis originals among the nine songs (including "Toll Gate Blues" and "Wrought Iron Rag") and also finds the band in prime form. ~ Scott Yanow

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 5 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Marchin' & Swingin'/ At Symphony Hall Music Lover: from PA -- July, 19, 2003

I grew up listening to Wilbur DeParis, and just purchased the CD after many attempts to locate it. One can't help but begin tapping their foot when the music starts, its great...................

Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 23,036
  • UPC: 090431660027
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)