Duke Ellington Uptown Downbeat

Uptown Downbeat
Get email alerts for Duke Ellington
Sale: $8.09
PRESIDENTS' DAY SALE: $4.98 Limited Time Only
List Price: $8.99
You Save: $4.01 (45% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 1 copy left
sku:  HJ5Q
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 4, 2004
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Avid Records Uk


  • 1.East St. Louis Toodle-Oo - Duke Ellington,
  • 2.Washington Wobble - Duke Ellington, Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra
  • 3.Diga Diga Doo - Duke Ellington, Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra
  • 4.I Can't Give You Anything But Love - Duke Ellington, Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra
  • 5.Saratoga Swing - Duke Ellington, Duke Ellington & His Cotton Club Orchestra
  • 6.Accordion Joe - Jungle Band
  • 7.I've Got the World on a String
  • 8.Raisin' the Rent
  • 9.Solitude - Duke Ellington,
  • 10.In a Sentimental Mood
  • 11.Uptown Downbeat - Duke Ellington,
  • 12.In a Jam - Duke Ellington,
  • 13.Braggin' in Brass
  • 14.Dinah's in a Jam
  • 15.Battle of Swing
  • 16.Riding on a Blue Note
  • 17.Smorgasbord and Schnapps
  • 18.Harlem Air Shaft
  • 19.Sepia Panorama
  • 20.Ko Ko
  • 21.Dusk
  • 22.Conga Brava
  • 23.Blue Goose
  • 24.Never No Lament (Don't Get Around Much Anymore)
  • 25.Cotton Tail

Product Description:

Personnel: Duke Ellington (piano); Juan Tizol (vocals, trombone); Dick Robertson, Ivie Anderson, Ozie Ware (vocals); Fred Guy (guitar, banjo); Johnny Hodges (clarinet, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone); Harry Carney (clarinet, alto saxophone); Rudy Jackson (clarinet, tenor saxophone); Barney Bigard (clarinet); Otto Hardwick (soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, baritone saxophone); Joe Garland, Ben Webster (tenor saxophone); Cootie Williams, Freddie Jenkins, Harold Baker, Arthur Whetsol, Louis Metcalf, Wallace Jones, Bubber Miley (trumpet); Rex Stewart (cornet); Joe "Tricky Sam" Nanton (trombone); Sonny Greer (drums).
Recording information: New York, NY (12/19/1927-05/04/1940).
Photographer: Maurice Chevalier.
Here's instant relief for those who need a quick shot of classic Duke Ellington in the form of 25 recordings made between December 1927 and May 1940 that map the development of this superb big band from the close of the Bubber Miley period to the dawn of what has since come to be called the Blanton-Webster band (so named for the combined presence and influence of string bassist Jimmy Blanton and tenor saxophonist Ben Webster). Duke Ellington's orchestra was the definitive, breathing embodiment of big-band jazz for about 50 years; a perusal of his collective personnel listing can provide newcomers with plenty of clues for further exploration (begin by feeding your search engine the following names: Johnny Hodges, Cootie Williams, Juan Tizol, Barney Bigard, and Wellman Braud). Vocalists heard on this collection are Ozie Ware, Dick Robertson, and the divine Ivie Anderson. ~ arwulf arwulf
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • UPC: 5022810154624
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)