COVID-19: Because of processes designed to ensure the safety of our employees, you may experience a delay in the shipping of your order. Thank you for your patience and understanding. We are grateful for your business and hope you are staying safe and healthy!

The Offspring Smash

Alternative Press: "...Rarely has a band so dextrously combined such apparently discordant elements into such a delicious whole..."
Get email alerts for The Offspring
365 ratings
MASSIVE CD SALE: $11.80 Limited Time Only
You Save: $0.18 (2% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
sku:  HHSJ
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: June 17, 2008
  • Originally Released: 2008
  • Label: Epitaph

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 11/3/94, p.98
3 Stars - Good - "...Call 'em punks if you want to, but a song ["Come Out And Play"] this cannily designed, arranged and executed is worthy of the best rock-songwriting tradition..."
Alternative Press - 8/94, p.89
"...Rarely has a band so dextrously combined such apparently discordant elements into such a delicious whole..."
Musician - 8/94, p.90
"...Fortunately it doesn't take a genius to appreciate Offspring's simple songwriting smarts...A nice shot of adrenaline from a socially concious syringe..."
NME (Magazine) - 9/3/94, p.51
6 - Good - "...Being dynamically punk and showing a wide perspective aren't mutually exclusive. When Offspring discover that, they'll be bloody dangerous..."


  • 1.Time to Relax
  • 2.Nitro (Youth Energy)
  • 3.Bad Habit
  • 4.Gotta Get Away
  • 5.Genocide
  • 6.Something to Believe In
  • 7.Come Out and Play
  • 8.Self Esteem
  • 9.It'll Be a Long Time
  • 10.Killboy Powerhead
  • 11.What Happened to You?
  • 12.So Alone
  • 13.Not the One
  • 14.Smash

Product Description:

Offspring: Dexter Holland (vocals, guitar); Noodles (guitar, background vocals); Greg K (bass); Ron Welty (drums, background vocals).
Additional personnel: Jason "Blackball" McLean (vocals).
Recorded at Track Record, North Hollywood, California.
All songs written by Offspring except "Killboy Powerhead" (The Didjits).
The Offspring (US): Dexter Holland (vocals, guitar); Noodles (guitar); Greg K. (bass guitar); Ron Welty (drums).
Building off the success of its Orange County, California hardcore roots and a feature spot in snowboarding advertisements, Offspring is suddenly seeing more commercial success that it ever could have dreamed of when it was formed as yet another Southern California hard-core punk act in 1991.
SMASH is a generous helping of guitar power-pop. The delightful Middle-Eastern surf guitar on "Come Out And Play" hides harsh sentiments in poppy guitar riffs. Singer Dexter Holland mocks the school systems that think the solution to school violence is to "keep them separated," to segregate rather than educate the kids about the dangers of carrying guns. As Holland advises his fans, "Hey pay no mind/If you're under eighteen you won't be doing any time."
Offspring's power is in writing anthemic guitar rock that effortlessly slips from genre to genre. From the humorous ska-flavored "What Happened To You?" to the sing-along guitar riff in "No Self Esteem," SMASH is by no means a smash hit, but it has certainly gotten the exposure this one-time hardcore band deserves.

Similar Products

Music Categories:
Product Groupings:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 13,166
  • UPC: 045778686827
  • Shipping Weight: 0.22/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)