Ray Charles Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music Vol. 1 & 2, with Bonus Tracks (2-CD)

Modern Sounds in Country & Western Music Vol. 1 &
Get email alerts for Ray Charles
TOP 100 Bestseller
SALE: $6.98
List Price: $11.98
You Save: $5 (42% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
Only 5 copies left
Format:  CD  (2 Discs)
sku:  ZNOT 539
Brand New

CD Details

  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Released: 2014
  • Originally Released: 2014
  • Label: Not Now Music

Entertainment Reviews:

Rolling Stone - 12/11/03, p.120
Ranked #104 in Rolling Stone's "500 Greatest Albums Of All Time" - "[A] model of folk-pop healing music..."

Tracks on Disc 1:

  • 1.Bye Bye, Love
  • 2.You Don't Know Me
  • 3.Half As Much
  • 4.I Love You so Much It Hurts
  • 5.Just A Little Lovin'
  • 6.Born To Lose
  • 7.Worried Mind
  • 8.It Makes No Difference Now
  • 9.You Win Again
  • 10.Careless Love
  • 11.I Can't Stop Loving You
  • 12.Hey Good Lookin'
  • 13.I'm Movin' On
  • 14.Leave My Woman Alone
  • 15.Unchain My Heart

Tracks on Disc 2:

  • 1.You Are My Sunshine
  • 2.No Letter Today
  • 3.Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
  • 4.Don't Tell Me Your Troubles
  • 5.Midnight
  • 6.Oh, Lonesome Me
  • 7.Take These Chains From My Heart
  • 8.Your Cheating Heart
  • 9.I'll Never Stand In Your Way
  • 10.Making Believe
  • 11.Teardrops In My Heart
  • 12.Hang Your Head In Shame
  • 13.Georgia On My Mind
  • 14.Carry Me Back To Old Virginny
  • 15.Deep In The Heart of Texas

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Ray Charles (vocals, piano); David "Fathead" Newman (saxophone).
Enginners include: Gene Thompson, Bill Putnam, Johnny Cue.
Recorded in 1962-1963 at Capitol Studios, New York, New York; United Recording Studios, Hollywood, California; RPM International Studios, Los Angeles, California. Includes liner notes by Todd Everett.
Ray Charles had dabbled with country music at Atlantic, notably 'I'm Movin' On', but the move to ABC-Paramount prompted him to record a full album. His version of Don Gibson's 'I Can't Stop Loving You' was a transatlantic number 1 and not far behind his bittersweet performance of Eddy Arnold's 'You Don't Know Me'. Ray's own favourite was 'I Love You So Much It Hurts'. The album was so successful that he recorded a second volume and had hits with 'Take These Chains From My Heart' and 'Cryin' Time'. Although the album showed that black soul and white country could be merged, Ray Charles lost his momentum, tending to cruise along on the same theme and never again writing a song to equal 'What'd I Say'.
Import CDs from Not Now and One Day Music

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 145
  • UPC: 5060143495397
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 2 items

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8:30am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 11am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)