The New York Rock 'N' Roll Ensemble The New York Rock 'N' Roll Ensemble

The New York Rock 'N' Roll Ensemble
Get email alerts for The New York Rock 'N' Roll Ensemble
19 ratings
Sale: $9.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $3.99 (31% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6529
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2005
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Elektra ATCO SD33-240 (1968)

Description by

The New York Rock & Roll Ensemble broke new grounds in the late 60s and throughout the 70s with their raw mix of classical music and rock and roll. Originally trained as classical musicians in the Julliard Music Conservatory, the band formed with the intention of mixing their classical skills with the rock and roll world. Originally released in 1968 on Elektra, The New York Rock & Roll Ensemble's self titled debut album is the group's most impressive release and offers you the opportunity to hear a young Michael Kamen truly pushing the boundaries of rock and roll!


  • 1.Intro
  • 2.Sounds Of Time
  • 3.Began To Burn
  • 4.Monkey
  • 5.Trio Sonata No. ITEM: 12
  • 6.She's Gone
  • 7.Poor Pauline
  • 8.?
  • 9.Mr. Tree
  • 10.You Know Just What It's Like
  • 11.Studeao Atlantis
  • 12.Pick Up In The Morning
  • 13.The Seasons

Product Description:

Composer: Manos Hadjidakis.
New York Rock & Roll Ensemble: Clif Nivison (guitar); Hank DeVito (pedal steel guitar); Dorian Rudnytsky (cello, bass instrument); Michael Kamen (oboe, piano, organ); Marty Fulterman (oboe, drums).
Liner Note Author: Martin Gottfried.
Photographer: Jay P. Halpin.

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 19 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
Long awaited classic finally reissued. Music Lover: from Sydney -- July, 19, 2005

This was one of only a handful of important late sixties LPs still unissued. This is one of the very first groups to incorporate classical styles and instrumentation into rock music. The LP contains some great songs...particularly She's Gone and Studeao Atlantis. Not quite psych...and not quite progressive rock...the closest comparison would be Procol Harum.

Now for the bad news...the packaging is poor, it doesn't even credit the musicians, which included the late Michael Kamen who went on to much greater fame with Mr Holland's Opus and Metalica's S & M, and Martin Fulterman (who changed his name to Mark Snow and wrote the X-files background music). The original LP had a gatefold sleeve...only the front cover is reproduced (along with the rambling uninformative original sleeve notes). This record deserved a new set of sleeve notes putting this LP into historical perspective. Also...NO BONUS tracks...there were two non-LP singles that were issued before this LP and they should have been on this CD!
Perhaps Collectables could make amends by issing the 2nd LP "Faithful Friends" and adding the missing singles and writting some decent sleeve notes. Anyway great to have this on CD at last.

Collectables Records
Presidents' Day Weekend Sales Event

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 26,877
  • UPC: 090431652923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.26/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)