Clifford Jordan These Are My Roots: Clifford Jordan Plays Leadbelly

Get email alerts for Clifford Jordan
4 ratings
SALE: $3.98
List Price: $12.97
You Save: $8.99 (69% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  COL 6522
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Atlantic 1444 (1965)

Description by

A reissue of Clifford Jordan's 1965 tribute album to the late folk singer Leadbelly. On this album, he is backed by Roy Burrowes on trumpet, Julian Preister on trombone, Chuck Wayne on banjo, Cedar Walton on piano, Richard Davis on bass and Al Heath on drums. "Take This Hammer" and "Black Girl" feature Sandra Douglas on vocals.


  • 1.Dick's Holler
  • 2.Silver City Bound
  • 3.Take This Hammer (Vocal By Sandra Douglas)
  • 4.Black Betty
  • 5.The Highest Mountain
  • 6.Goodnight Irene
  • 7.De Gray Goose
  • 8.Black Girl (Vocal By Sandra Douglas)
  • 9.Jolly O The Ransom
  • 10.Yellow Gal

Product Description:

Personnel: Clifford Jordan (tenor saxophone); Sandra Douglass (vocals); Roy Burrowes (trumpet); Julian Priester (trombone); Cedar Walton (piano); Chuck Wayne (guitar, banjo); Richard Davis (bass); Al Heath (drums).
Producer: Nesuhi Ertegun.
Reissue producers: Donald Elfman, Naomi Yoshii.
Recorded on February 1 & 17, 1965 in New York, New York. Originally released on Atlantic (1444). Includes liner notes by Nat Hentoff.
All tracks have been digitally remastered using HDCD technology by Gene Paul (DB Plus, New York, New York).
Personnel: Clifford Jordan (tenor saxophone); Sandra Douglass (vocals).
At first glance, this appears to be a very illogical album. Back in 1965, tenor saxophonist Clifford Jordan recorded a tribute to the late folksinger Leadbelly. The date, originally cut for Atlantic and reissued by Koch in 1999, is actually more successful than one might expect. Jordan performs nine of Leadbelly's originals (including the hit "Goodnight Irene"), turning the music into jazz without lessening the impact of the melodies or their folk roots. Trumpeter Roy Burrowes, trombonist Julian Priester, bassist Richard Davis, and drummer Albert "Tootie" Heath are on most of the selections along with Jordan, while Chuck Wayne (on guitar and banjo) helps out on four tunes, and pianist Cedar Walton is on three. The fine young singer Sandra Douglass is excellent on "Take This Hammer" and "Black Girl." Overall, this project is an unexpected success -- one would not have thought that Clifford Jordan and Leadbelly had that much in common! ~ Scott Yanow
Collectables Records

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 9,206
  • UPC: 090431652220
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)