Bananarama Pop Life

Entertainment Weekly: " can always count on them for a couple of perky singles....but this album takes us to an eerier place than we'd ever expect.." - Rating: A
Get email alerts for Bananarama
16 ratings
Price: $12.20
List Price: $14.98
You Save: $2.78 (19% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 3-5 business days
Format:  CD
item number:  WG2R
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2004
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: London-Sire 828246 (1991)

Description by

After the departure of vocalist Siobhan Fahey, Bananarama attempted to break into the Hi-NRG dance genre with "Pop Life." Produced by Steve Jolley (Alison Moyet, Spandau Ballet, Wang Chung), who also produced "Bananarama" and "True Confessions" - their second and third albums, the songs on this release have a uniquely different flavor than those of their earlier albums, with more of an emphasis on synths and drum machines.

Entertainment Reviews:

Entertainment Weekly - 7/12/91
" can always count on them for a couple of perky singles....but this album takes us to an eerier place than we'd ever expect.." - Rating: A


  • 1.Preacher Man
  • 2.Long Train Running
  • 3.Only Your Love
  • 4.What Colour R The Skies Where U Live
  • 5.Is Your Love Strong Enough
  • 6.Tripping On Your Love
  • 7.Ain't No Cure
  • 8.Outta Sight
  • 9.Megalomaniac
  • 10.I Can't Let You Go
  • 11.Heartless
  • 12.Preacher Man (Ramabanana Mix)

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 16 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
A Well -Crafted Bananarama Album! Music Lover: from Australia -- May, 26, 2005

I love Bananarama's music.I first was introduced to them by an old 80's compilation cassette that my dad bought from the Gulf nation.On that cassette was a song by the Rams called "Na Na Hey Hey...Kiss Him Goodbye" I got attracted to that song and loved it every time it played.I literally warped out the cassette as I kept rewindind the song back and back again! Now after that I got the luck of getting hold of "True Confessions" by London Records,the original CD recording and I was just delighted at the songs....truly bubblegum! haha.
Now for this CD."Pop Life" is a very different sounding album as compared to "Wow!" and it's predecessors.It has a bit of an Indy pop style in it....but the songs are STRONG ,and their vocals are much more beautiful and lush.The opening track,"Preacher Man" is a great dance number and I've heard it earlier on their "Greatest Hits" album.Has thumpy drum machines all the way.Sounds more like an 80's track.The best track I loved was "Long Train Running",this is perhaps their best cover song ever.Truly magnificient.The song pulses along so well and so do their vocal styles.It's a much more bubbly take-on of the Doobie Brothers original.
The next great one was,"Is your love strong enough", the music is hypnotising with those keyboards and the vocals are sexy and breathly......why did they choose to sing in UNISON! The overall recording is great and clear! Go for this one.there's a song here by Stock Aitken and Waterman as well! GREAT!!

Collectables Records

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 15,891
  • UPC: 090431651421
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm, (Eastern Time)