Block Party A Weekend In The City

Spin: 3 stars out of 5 -- "They're one of the few acts that can write a song about a hangover that will also sound great during a hangover."
SALE: $4.98
List Price: $17.98
You Save: $13 (72% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 2-5 business days
Only 4 copies left
Format:  CD
item number:  ZDP 6120
Brand New
Related products:
Adele: 19 for $16.20

CD Details

  • Released: September 18, 2015
  • Originally Released: 2007
  • Label: Wichita Recordings Ltd.

Entertainment Reviews:

Spin - p.84
3 stars out of 5 -- "They're one of the few acts that can write a song about a hangover that will also sound great during a hangover."
Entertainment Weekly - p.74
"[D]rummer Matt Tong pumps out herculean disco-rock beats that'll work any nightclub into a froth." -- Grade: B-
Q - p.110
3 stars out of 5 -- "The music is spiky but widescreen throughout, with electronic trimmings and even a hint of U2's epic soundscapes..."
Uncut - p.75
3 stars out of 5 -- "Guitarist Russell Lissack enchants on 'Kreuzberg'..."
Vibe - p.122
"With WEEKEND, Bloc Party continue to refute genre tags, finding themselves wherever they may roam."
Mojo (Publisher) - p.102
3 stars out of 5 -- "A WEEKEND IN THE CITY resolves largely around a cast of twentysomething hipsters, created with obvious care and attention."


  • 1.Song For Clay (Disappear Here)
  • 2.Hunting For Witches
  • 3.Waiting For The 7:18
  • 4.The Prayer
  • 5.Uniform
  • 6.On
  • 7.Where Is Home?
  • 8.Kreuzberg
  • 9.I Still Remember
  • 10.Sunday
  • 11.SRXT

Product Description:

With its second full-length studio album, A WEEKEND IN THE CITY, Bloc Party seems undaunted in following up its highly acclaimed debut, SILENT ALARM, assuredly presenting another shimmering set of heady, well-honed British rock. While the band's calling cards--alternately angular and chiming guitar lines, frontman Kele Okereke's plaintive vocals, and drummer Matt Tong's precise rhythms--are fully on display, WEEKEND features the London-based quartet in a more muscular mode, a point easily hit home by the fierce opener, "Song for Clay (Disappear Here)," which is marked by roaring six-string riffs and an insistent beat.
Although WEEKEND is less dynamic than SILENT ALARM, like that earlier release, the record is generally frontloaded with more aggressive tracks (particularly the searing, dance-tinged tune "Hunting for Witches"), leaving the latter part of WEEKEND to showcase Bloc Party's shoegaze tendencies ("Kreuzberg") and pop inclinations ("I Still Remember"). Bloc Party often verges on U2/Coldplay-like grandeur here, but it defiantly retains an edge that those acts lack, making this a distinct album by a band of its time.
Rare and Out-of-Print CDs only $4.98

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 7,838
  • UPC: 5055036261203
  • Shipping Weight: 0.37/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 9am-10pm, Weekends: 11am-7pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-5pm (Eastern Time)