Teresa Brewer Live At Carnegie Hall & Montreux, Switzerland

Live At Carnegie Hall & Montreux, Switzerland
Get email alerts for Teresa Brewer
Sale: $7.98
WINTER SALE: $7.18 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $7.79 (52% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6499
Brand New
Related products:

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2001
  • Label: Collectables Records
  • Original Album: Doctor Jazz 39521 (1991)

Description by OLDIES.com:

Teresa Brewer began her career as a novelty and pop vocalist but soon became one of the most respected jazz artists in the world. Some of the jazz world's most legendary musicians backing up Brewer on these live sets are Dizzy Gillespie, Cootie Williams, Grady Tate, Clark Terry, and Jon Faddis. Highlights include the swinging "It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)," "St. Louis Blues," and "Mood Indigo."


  • 1.It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 2.Breakin' Up Is Hard To Do
  • 3.St. Louis Blues
  • 4.After You've Gone
  • 5.Medley: It Had To Be You
  • 6.Romance In The Dark
  • 7.Mood Indigo
  • 8.Some Songs
  • 9.That's When The Music Takes Me
  • 10.Medley: I Ain't Got Nobody
  • 11.Fats Waller Medley: We Love You Fats (A) Ain't Misbehavin' (B) Find Out What They Like (C) The Joint Is Jumpin
  • 12.Come On And Drive Me Crazy
  • 13.It Don't Mean A Thing (If It Ain't Got That Swing)
  • 14.Mood Indigo
  • 15.St. Louis Blues
  • 16.New Orleans

Product Description:

Personnel includes: Teresa Brewer (vocals); Dizzy Gillespie (vocals, jews harp); Cootie Williams, Clark Terry (trumpet); Bucky Pizzarelli (acoustic guitar); Hiram Bullock (electric guitar); Derek Smith, Patrick Coil (piano);
Wilbur Bascomb, John Adams (bass); Andy Newmark, Grady Tate, Jeff Hamilton (drums).
Recorded live at Carnegie Hall,New York, New York and Montreux, Switzerland on April 5, 1978 and July 22, 1983.
Two previously unissued live concerts from 1978 and 1983 find Teresa in rare form, singing and swinging in front of big bands simply top-heavy with great players. Kicking off with a duet with Dizzy Gillespie on "It Don't Mean a Thing" (where Dizzy plays a Jew's harp funkier than any electronic gizmo you can think of), Brewer puts the torch to tunes like "After You've Gone," "St. Louis Blues," and a smoky medley of "It Had to Be You" and "I've Got a Crush on You." The Montreux set repeats many of the same tunes, but with Clark Terry in the fold, Teresa is recharged, and the different interpretations make for very interesting comparisons. Anyone who wants to file Brewer in the "pop singer" category only needs to hear her sink her formidable chops into this material with a hot band kicking behind her. ~ Cub Koda
Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 41,867
  • UPC: 090431649923
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)