Burl Ives The Wayfaring Stranger

The Wayfaring Stranger
Get email alerts for Burl Ives
17 ratings
Sale: $10.98
WINTER SALE: $9.88 Limited Time Only
List Price: $14.97
You Save: $5.09 (34% Off)
Available: Usually ships in 1-3 business days
sku:  COL 6474
Brand New

CD Details

  • Released: March 14, 2006
  • Originally Released: 2000
  • Label: Collectables Records

Description by OLDIES.com:

One of Folk music's all-around legends, Burl Ives performs some of the great songs of Americana on these rare recordings from the vaults of Columbia Records. A troubadour in the tradition of the great Woody Guthrie, Ives scored often on the Pop charts and his distinctive voice is one of the most recognized of the last century. Memorable tracks included on this disc are "Cotton-Eyed Joe", "Pretty Polly" and "On Top Of Old Smokey".


  • 1.Leather-Winged Bat
  • 2.Cotton-Eyed Joe
  • 3.Sweet Betsy From Pike
  • 4.On Top Of Old Smoky
  • 5.I Know Where I'm Going
  • 6.I Know My Love
  • 7.Cowboy's Lament
  • 8.Wee Cooper O'fife
  • 9.Riddle Song
  • 10.Tam Pierce (Old Engliser)
  • 11.Peter Gray
  • 12.Darlin' Cory
  • 13.John Hardy
  • 14.Colorado Trail
  • 15.Roving Gambler
  • 16.Bonnie Wee Lassie
  • 17.The Divil And The Farmer
  • 18.On Springfield Mountain
  • 19.Little Mohee
  • 20.Troubador Song
  • 21.Robin, He Married
  • 22.Lavender Cowboy
  • 23.Green Broom
  • 24.High Barbaree
  • 25.I've Got No Use For Women
  • 26.Old Paint
  • 27.Baby Did You Hear
  • 28.Pueblo Gal
  • 29.Pretty Polly

Product Description:

Tracks 1-26 originally released on Columbia Records (CL 628).
Personnel: Burl Ives (vocals, guitar).
Arrangers: Tony Mottola; Burl Ives.
The Wayfaring Stranger was the name of the CBS radio program on which Burl Ives first achieved lasting fame in broadcast circles and the name of Ives' autobiography as well, so it was also a natural for his Columbia Records debut. Ives' definitive Columbia album, The Wayfaring Stranger was also one of the bright spots in the very early folk revival of the mid-'50s, serving (every bit as much as the work of the Weavers) as the unofficial songbook for a generation of would-be folksingers who followed. Indeed, while the Weavers subsequently achieved much greater recognition and respect, their work up to this point in 1955 was decidedly more pop oriented, thanks to the presence of Gordon Jenkins' arrangements and accompaniments. In contrast, Ives' presentation on The Wayfaring Stranger was more basic and authentic, consisting of only his voice and acoustic guitar for all but one of the 26 songs. His singing is suited to the wide variety of material here, including folk ballads ("Darlin' Cory," "I Know Where I'm Going"), western songs ("Cowboy's Lament," better known as "The Streets of Laredo"), and tall tales ("The Divil and the Farmer"), among numerous other categories. Along with the work of the Easy Riders, this album has been one of the more undeservedly overlooked contributions that Columbia Records made to the folk boom that followed -- listening to this record, it's clear that more than a couple of young folkies picked up a song or two or three from Ives. ~ Bruce Eder

Music Lovers' Ratings & Reviews:

Customer Rating:
Based on 17 ratings.
Write an online review to share your thoughts with other customers.
An American Folk Music Classic Music Lover: from Florida -- May, 14, 2012

There is no album ever recorded that more represents folk music then "The Wayfaring Stranger" by Burl Ives. It is a true classic filled with traditional folk tunes. There is also no better choice to use to introduce yourself to or get to know more about folk music then this album. I know. My own mother bought this album, along with the "Return Of The Wayfaring Stranger", way back when I was a young child to help introduce and expose me to folk music. I still have those phonograph records in my collection although due to years of play they have become wore out and scratched. That is why I was thrilled recently to see that these records have now been put out on CD. I recently purchased "The Wayfaring Stranger" and plan on getting "The Return Of... " soon
The sound quality is great and simple. The songs consist of Burl Ives singing and accompanying himself on the guitar. That is what maybe makes this album so great. No fancy gimmics or over the top productions. Just Burl, the songs and the microphone.

When I say folk music here too let me say that this isn't like the folk music of Dylan, Peter Paul and Mary or Joan Baez. This is not social protest songs that helped to inspired a generation to tackle the major issues of the 1960's. This is folk music at its basic roots. In many ways it is like a history album of Americana tracing the path of folk music as it spread through the south and west. As you listen to this album you may find that you remember many of these songs from your childhood. For those of us who are 50+ in years will find we grew up to this music. You may very well find yourself feeling a bit nostalgic as you listen to Burl sing these tales.

Collectables Records
Year-End Clearance Sale

Similar Products

Music Categories:

Product Info

  • Sales Rank: 8,103
  • UPC: 090431647424
  • Shipping Weight: 0.25/lbs (approx)
  • International Shipping: 1 item

To place an order or for customer service, call toll-free 1-800-336-4627 or outside the United States, call 1-610-649-7565
Open Monday-Friday: 8am-10pm, Saturday: 10am-9pm, Sunday: 10am-8pm (Eastern Time)
Se habla Español! Spanish-speaking representatives available, Monday-Friday: 9am-4pm (Eastern Time)